theAA

2.2 / 5

theAA

2.2 Poor
For scoring calculation, we evaluate more than 25 parameters.

2.2 / 5

Main Score

3.9

Reviews

3

Social

1

Featured

1

Technical

We are evaluating more than 25 parameters for scoring calculation.

Reviews Analysis

73

reviews

vs

0

AI declined reviews

0%

NON VALIDATED REVIEWS

Car Insurance Home Insurance Travel Insurance and Breakdown Cover from AA Ireland Insurance providing many membership benefits and services in Ireland

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Last update: Wed, Dec 2, 2020 3:02 PM

Write a review

Point: Poor

Review theaa.ie

theAA Reviews (73)

I recently renewed my AA Car Insurance on 31st July and was told my 1st payment would be taken by DDM from that date. However on 3rd Aug 2 DDM's were taken from my bank account. The FIRST one was dated 2nd JULY, BEFORE the Policy was even renewed !!!!! I did ring up and was told it would be sorted but it WAS'NT and I never heard anything else after that. Am still very annoyed by whole experience and may NOT renew next year !!!!! Richard.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Richard G.

Read previous reviews from Richard G.
This relates to my car insurance renewal in July of this year ahead of my renewal date on 21 July. I renewed my policy with Karen (who was very nice to deal with) and my payment was processed over the phone and charged to my credit card. When I had not received my insurance disc, I rang AA on Thursday 26th July and I spoke to a Customer Services team member. He told me there was an issue and that I had not renewed the policy. I said that I had done so (I think on 19th July with Karen) so he said he would ask his supervisor to ask a supervisor in Sales to contact me. When nobody rang me, I phoned again on Friday 27th July and was told the same thing again - i.e. that it was my fault as I had not renewed it, I said I had and gave details of the payment. I was again told that a supervisor there would ask a Sales supervisor to contact me. When I asked to be transferred to Sales there and then, I was told that was not possible and was assured that I was covered anyway.

As I didn't receive a phonecall back for the second day running, I again rang Customer Services for the third time on Saturday 28th July and this time I spoke with Ola who advised me that I was not insured as I had not renewed my policy and was very firm that I was at fault. I cannot tell you how seriously shocked this made me feel to think I had been driving my family and their friends for over a week without insurance - something I would never consider doing. I explained to Ola that I had in fact renewed my policy with Karen and quoted the payment reference no. to him and advised him his colleagues told me I was insured but he said that was incorrect. In fairness to him, he eventually confirmed that I had renewed the policy but it had not been processed by Sales. I explained this was my third day ringing and that I felt AA had not responded to resolve a serious issue for me especially as it was an error on AA's part. Fortunately Ola told me that of course he could transfer me to a colleague in sales (even though I had been told previously this was not possible) and I dealt with Ben who managed to renew my policy on the spot. I told him that his colleagues told me I was covered and he said I should not have been told that and he then also offered to refund the customer services element of the fee in acknowledgement of the breakdown of communication on its part. I was then told that if I was stopped by the Gardaí that I could explain what had happened and ring the AA and it would be confirmed to the guard that it was not my fault - hardly an acceptable resolution in the circumstances but luckily it did not arise. However Ben could not give me an explanation as to why a supervisor in Sales had not responded previously and, at my request, said he would request them to give me an explanation. It was acknowledged that as the AA had not processed the renewal, but if anything had arisen, AA would have had to cover any claim. Cold comfort but, that said, I really appreciated what both Ola and Ben did that day.

As I did not get a phone call back from Sales for the fourth time, I spoke with Anthony on 31 July and again asked how it was possible for the issue to arise in the first instance and why nobody took the time to phone me back. He could not offer an explanation so I asked for an explanation and apology to be sent in writing. I have received neither.

I also took out AA membership when renewing my policy and while I received the car stickers, the fuel card still has not arrived - poor show yet again, AA.

This is my third policy to take out with the AA this year (I have 2 home insurance policies with AA) and I have never experience such disregard for a serious issue as to whether I was insured to drive and such a serious lack of respect and diligence of the Sales team. I would have concerns about renewing future policies with AA after this experience.

I would appreciate a follow up on what went wrong and why I was always made to feel that it was my fault that the policy wasn't renewed - not a nice feeling for a customer to have.....
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Breda R.

Read previous reviews from Breda R.
With my van breakdown I had to wait 3 hours but the AA man was very good.
4

6 months ago

  •  

review by Anthony S.

Read previous reviews from Anthony S.
I am 3rd year now with AA, still happy, thank you :)
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by I. D.

Read previous reviews from I. D.
excellent, a million years in the business with a 100% satisfaction rate with customers. fantastic business model thats why their competitors followed suit.
the original and best 5 star rating.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Peter Y.

Read previous reviews from Peter Y.
I thought the agent was very friendly and efficient and understanding especially when I told her about my hearing difficulty over the phone . There was a difficult over the address but that was nothing to do with the AA but was relating to the Insurance company itself and this was the reason I made the complaint as I could not get anyone to get the correct address on my policy but eventually ot was sorted by the AA and the insurance company
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by R. L.

Read previous reviews from R. L.
my battery was dead and I rang ,there was somebody with me in one and a half hrs.as I am a wheelchair user it is very important to me not to be left on the road.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Patrick G.

Read previous reviews from Patrick G.
I was told my a male staff on the phone that I would receive a 41 euro refund 3 weeks ago. I'm still waiting!
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by V. F.

Read previous reviews from V. F.
I spoke to one of your customer service team called Kevin and found him to be very helpful in finding me a good quote for my motor insurance. I also got breakdown assistance cover.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Q. X.

Read previous reviews from Q. X.
I received 10 identical letters on renewal was put on a plan I didn’t agree to 29 Euro taken from my account instead of 10 as agreed on the phone. I assume this was because it was too late to change. I assume it will be corrected this month.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Patricia D.

Read previous reviews from Patricia D.
I tried to get a quote online but my car model was unavailable on the drop down menu so I had to call. Representative was v helpful and I ended with a very competitive price which I was happy to accept
4

6 months ago

  •  

review by Z. C.

Read previous reviews from Z. C.
I received travel insurance for the USA with unlimited medical expenses even though I am over eighty . Great peace of mind and reassurance that AA does not discriminate against us older people. I have told all my friends who also like to travel .
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Helena L.

Read previous reviews from Helena L.
Well in uk terrible waited over 2 hours no response got help from another driver got to boat towed on AA Ireland Brilliant got towed all the way home 5 star
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Janet A.

Read previous reviews from Janet A.
I was very dissapointed In the service I received from the AA for my breakdown they arrrive 2 and a half hours later on a very hot day.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by L. N.

Read previous reviews from L. N.
I was very impressed with the level of service and friendliness by a man that called out to help me fix my tyre in the summer at the woodies diy Lucan. He was extremely quick and efficient and friendly. He is a credit to the company. Unfortunately I cannot remember his name but it was early June. He had brown hair and glasses. Recall he was from Kinnegad.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by J. C.

Read previous reviews from J. C.
Since I joined in July I have not received a membership Card ,can I use last years one.

P.fawl
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Paddy W.

Read previous reviews from Paddy W.
I am unable to turn the wheel bolts on my new Mercedes E-Class with the equipment provided by the manufacturer.

The AA mechanic came to change my wheel, on a mountain track in Kerry, more than 10 miles from either of the nearest towns (Killarney and Kenmare).
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by E. Caroline

Read previous reviews from E. Caroline
I was insuring a new car/model that wasn't on the website and the young man I was talking to on web chat was really helpful. He phoned me and sorted everything out. He was quick, efficient and very pleasant.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Shirley O.

Read previous reviews from Shirley O.
Five weeks ago, I was told I would receive two membership cards within 3 weeks. This was my third or fourth call to look for them. Still no cards. Why can I not give zero stars?
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Anne A.

Read previous reviews from Anne A.
I have purchased my car insurance from AA for the past 2 years. However when I asked about insuring a second car in my own name I was informed that my no claims would only apply to one of the vehicles. End of story!!
However having spoke to other insurers I discover that the 20 years I was named on my wife’s policy could be used as no claims on the 2nd car. Why did AA not apply this policy?
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Dave Y.

Read previous reviews from Dave Y.
My car renewal is up on the 4th September. The price is very steep for an NHS worker. I shall be looking around. Thanks
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Niamh T.

Read previous reviews from Niamh T.
Was left waiting over 3 weeks for insurance cert (3rd year running) have sent direct debate mandate 4 times now and still yet to hear back if this one has been received.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Eamonn G.

Read previous reviews from Eamonn G.
I had a bad experience with AA after being a customer for 4 years. They try to revoke my policy, AA was looking for a my no claim bonus,i guess they must have it on file as they send it to me few months ago. I rang and told them i don't have it as i might have lost it they wouldn't believe me. they send me a letter saying that are going to revoke my policy. Afterwards i went to AxA they have call AA and told them they could see on their screen i have 4 years no claim bonus. It was all sorted afterwards. I was not happy with AA service, after paying a premium of more than €800 and you are treated this way.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Mahen T.

Read previous reviews from Mahen T.
I ONLY GOT TRAVEL INSURANCE FOR 1 WEEK
WOULD HAVE TAKEN OUT A YEAR IF PRICE WAS RIGHT
WENT AWAY WITH NO CLAIM SO WIN WIN FOR YOU
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Christopher Z.

Read previous reviews from Christopher Z.
Took over 10 working days and two phone calls to get a refund into my bank account after cancelation of my travel insurance. I also found it very difficult to navigate their phone system.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Patrick E.

Read previous reviews from Patrick E.

Car Insurance Home Insurance Travel Insurance and Breakdown Cover from AA Ireland Insurance providing many membership benefits and services in Ireland

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Sign in to write your review

You’re moments away from writing your review.

Sign in

or sign in with