thenerds.net

2.6 / 5

thenerds.net

2.6 Poor
For scoring calculation, we evaluate more than 25 parameters.

2.6 / 5

Trust Score

3.4

Reviews

3

Social

1

Featured

3

Technical

We are evaluating more than 25 parameters for scoring calculation.

Reviews Analysis

30

reviews

vs

0

AI declined reviews

0%

NON VALIDATED REVIEWS

About thenerds.net

No description for this company.

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Last update: Thu, Jan 28, 2021 9:46 AM

Write a review

Point: Poor

Review thenerds.net

thenerds.net Reviews (30)

Originally placed a three part order on April 23. They never told me that 1 part of my 3 part order was on backorder for at least 3 weeks. I had to contact them just to get this information. Meanwhile, 2 of the parts ship from the manufacturer. I emailed them and told them to cancel the backordered part and refund me. Over email, they said that they would refund me. 3 days go by. No refund. I call them and speak to a customer service guy. He said the refund will be issued, and after that phone call they sent out a refund confirmation/notice to my email. 7 days go by. No refund. I email them, saying that if the refund doesn't post within the next business day then I will be contacting my bank and/or Visa. I get an email saying that it has been forwarded to their billing department. A day goes by. No refund. I'm currently in the process of disputing the charge with my credit card company, as TheNerds is a downright despicable company to do business with. Avoid these scammers like the plague. They take your money, don't send your complete order (or if they do, it's messed up in some way and they are slow/unreasonable to RMA), then don't issue refunds. This is BY FAR the worst online shopping experience I have ever had. It really is horrible what this company is doing to customers.
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by evinced

I found my product here for about 2/3 of the cost at other merchants. I placed my order, and received it the next day. I would definitely do business with TheNerds.net again.
5

10 months ago

  •  

review by N.Weaver1

The Nerds' price for the Sony BDV-E780W 1000 W 5.1 3D Home Theater System was the lowest anywhere. And eventually I received the item for that price plus shipping. But, like so many others have said this was not a good experience for me. I am happy some people have had great experiences with The Nerds. I am certain their comments are truthful. But, the negative reports are also true and these bad experiences are not isolated incidents. The business practices of this company are questionable and definitely not professional. I will not do business with them again. I think it is important for prospective customers to be warned about the potential for problems and deception. It gets back to the traditional advice - "Let the buyer beware".

First of all, the company is selling items that are not actually in stock (or at least they claim are not in stock!). After a week I had received no emails from them. I finally called to get the status of the order. On the positive side, both customer service representatives with whom I spoke were pleasant, courteous, and respectful. On this first contact, I was told the item had been back-ordered, but I had never received an email telling me that. Then I was told that the product was now in stock and was specially told the item would be "shipping tomorrow". Further, I was told I would receive an email notifying me that the item had shipped and a tracking number provided. Apparently, none of this was true. After a week with no tracking number and no delivery, I called once again. Again, I was told the theater system had been back-ordered but that it had been received two days before and had shipped yesterday. It would be delivered tomorrow. He had no reasonable explanation why I had not been notified of the shipment and given a tracking number. He gave me a FedEx tracking number which was valid and I confirmed that it had actually shipped and would arrive the following day. Shortly, after that I did receive an email with the appropriate notification and information. And, the best news, it did actually arrive the following day in perfect condition!

Does the ends justify the means? Is all well that ends well? Should I overlook the dishonesty? Should I overlook the aggravation and frustration because I did, in fact, get the item I ordered and at the price that was quoted? NO!

Delays in shipment, for whatever reason, are possible. Items sometimes get back-ordered. Nothing is perfect. Companies just have to be forthright about the situation and be truthful. But, that is not the case here. I was never notified the product was back-ordered and there would be a delay in shipping. Then, I was lied to when I was told the product was in stock, when it was not. I was told that it would be "shipping tomorrow", when he knew it would not. This is not simply a matter of very poor communication or customer service people being misleading. This was deliberate dishonesty. This is what bothers me the most. This is completely unacceptable!! If a company is not trustworthy I don't want to risk my money or go through totally unnecessary aggravation and frustration. There are too many reputable companies out there. I would suggest to everyone that you do business with them rather than The Nerds!
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by reviewerplus

Placed two order few weeks apart for Peerless Industries projector mounting hardware. The price for hardware was one of the cheapest I was able to find on the net and almost half the price if I was to order directly from Peerless. They don't send you a tracking number because they drop ship directly from Peerless. Both orders showed up via UPS within 4-5 days. I never ordered anything else from this company before and can't speak about their service when it comes to other items but I will definitely buy any Peerless related items from this company.
5

10 months ago

  •  

review by vlad0vlad0

I ordered what they advertized to be a 16GB Kingston Laptop ram kit and they shipped me 8GB. It was a problem with their part# so they said they could not honor the purchase but would refund my money. OK, Mistakes happen. They refunded my money but charged me for shipping the wrong item and a restocking fee. I have sent an email with no response and called but their phone system has dropped my call to their support line twice before I have been able to resolve this.
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by dwightdouglaslawler

I purchased a supermico chassis for a server in March and the service was terrible, slow shipping, no response to email, chat super did not follow up our problem. Finally received order. Ordered again thinking the first time was just one of those things. Wow I was so wrong. The service and response to emails is non existent. I still wonder how these guys maintain their business but it will catch up to them with so many terrible reviews. Stay away from these guys unless you don't care about service and support. BAD NEWS!!!
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by fxwizard14

I ordered a Panasonic two-head telephone on January 2, 2015. I was told by The Nerds that it would be delivered before January 29, 2015. It was not. I could not get a tracking number and had to go through Amazon for a refund only to find that the company was no longer associated with them.

If I could give them no stars, I would. Avoid this disreputable company.
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by loracrelda

Good morning

Unfortunately all Sony items must go directly through Sony for replacements. It's got to go through their warranty

Hope you have a great day!!!

This is the message I received after I ordered a Sony product (their latest 3D model)and it did not even turn on out of the box. Upon calling Sony they said it was not covered! Hmmm
Now this place called TheNerds wants it back only after I called my credit card company. Before they wouldn't touch it. They also want me to pay for return shipping. Can this order be anymore of a nightmare. Most places would have just switched it out from the start. Don't order SONY items from this place. Come to think of it I wouldn't order ANYTHING!!!
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by JonTeagle

TheNerds" representatives told me that they have cancelled my order due to backorder status; in contrast to their website posting for 3 consecutive days that the item I ordered was in stock. There was even an email confirmation prior to cancellation that my order was already transferred to their warehouse for shipment and that I can no longer make any changes or cancel my order.

Furthermore, I was told that the their online price was wrong.

The above-mentioned disgusting experience speaks for itself.

For business/mission critical requirements, we won't deal with "TheNerds.net" ever again!!!!
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by Proteaus

I purchased a $990 Pioneer Receiver from these people and got burned Big Time. I was a little past the 15 day return policy when the receiver quit working, so they refused to take the defective receiver back. I was told that I could use the 2 year manufactures warranty that came with the purchase After calling Pioneer USA I found that Nerds was not an authorized reseller for Pioneer products therefore Pioneer would not honor the warranty. I attempted many times to contact Nerds and Was put on hold then disconnected. Some call attempts were not answer and just simply disconnected. Think twice before you spend your here! R.C. El Paso, Tx
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by RogerCrosley

Although I got scared by the ratings this store has here, I took the risk and ordered an expensive discontinued SACD player from them, as it was one of only two Web stores that seemed to still have them in stock. The fact that Sony's site lists them as an authorized dealer gave me hope that things will be fine.

The item arrived in eight business days, in factory-sealed condition. No double boxing, but no shipping/handling issues. Overall, I am happy I gave them my business.

My only small complain is that I already got three spam emails from these folks trying to sell me extended warranties (which would make no sense anyway because Sony provides a 5-year warranty for this item).
5

10 months ago

  •  

review by astros

My one and only experience with the nerds.net was this week when I ordered an Epson 1900 printer and they said they were in stock. They sent me a lesser printer instead and said they had a computer glich. Then they said they didn't have any Epson 1900
s. They didn't try to make it right, and today I get an ad from them trying to sell me a warranty on the Epson 1900! They do not have it together so beware. Caveat Emptor!!!
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by Wendydebolt

Overnight shipping - you won't get tracking info until after 48 hours so you're completely in the dark on what's going on with the shipment, and it does not apply on Fridays because you'll end up getting it on Monday. Should have ordered from Amazon.
3

11 months ago

  •  

review by uheardme

What a terrible company, I bought a very good chair mat from them and after about 3 months it started cracking where the wheels of the chair are. I contacted them via email, no response. Waited a couple of weeks and contacted them again, no response. Tried calling customer service and they dont answer the phone gave up after about 15 minutes. Emailed third time and guess what, no response. Emailed fourth time and they finally replied that since they never responded to the previous emails that 6 months had passed and they will do nothing and I should contact the manufacturer. I did not buy it from the manufacturer I bought it from them and they need to stand behind the products that they sell Buyer beware!!
3

11 months ago

  •  

review by TheNerds.netSucks

TheNerds.net is the most incompetent, unprofessional web site I have ever dealt with. I work for a large defense contractor and order tens of thousands of dollars in various types of material and computer components per year. I've dealt with a few marginal web sites but TheNerds.net is by far the worst. I had never dealt with them before; a colleague had recommended them for some HP plotter paper so I decided to give them a try. The paper was needed ASAP. I placed the order between 11am and noon on Feb. 11 and received an immediately email acknowledging the order.
So far so good. Because this was a rush need, I had agreed to pay $185.17 for overnight delivery. I paid an additional $3.99 for "rush processing" (what a joke!). And that is it. I never received an email with a tracking number. I have called them repeatedly at 888-566-6373 (at least 8 times) and they never answered the phone. All calls but 2 were placed during their alleged business hours. No answer. I also placed two calls during their off hours and was able to leave two voice-mails asking them to call me immediately. As I type this review, it's 11:30am on Feb. 13 and I have still not been able to speak to anyone at TheNerds.net. I managed to find the paper this morning at Office Depot and they will deliver the paper Mon., Feb. 16 with no delivery charge. And their price per roll is $2 cheaper. We decided to reject the order whenever it's delivered and then went to the web site to see how to return the order if needed. There we discovered that the only way to return an order is to request an RMA label. I.E, you cannot reject the delivery. You have to accept it and then return the order with an RMA label. And the customer has to pay for return shipping. I have NEVER dealt with a more difficult and incompetent vendor in my life. And I look forward to seeing them out of business as soon as possible. BUYER BEWARE!!!!
3

11 months ago

  •  

review by TerryG77

Purchased Koblenz washer on Amazon and did not find a return label near the 30 day return date. Iopened a fedex account and was quoted 44.94 ship price. The washer was returned to theNerds and theNerds paid 15.00 shipping. I notified them of fedex re-priced charge of $176.28. The result is that I paid for a Koblenz washer which theNerds has probably sold. I would not use theNerds again.
3

11 months ago

  •  

review by koblenzfiasco

In my decade plus of IT work and online purchases I have NEVER dinged (given a bad review) a merchant. But I cannot give the nerds.net a passing grade. My issue was with an RMA which I handled per their requirements only to have it land in limbo with no one taking or returning calls from customer support. In the end, I begged for and got my defective unit back after 8 weeks and many many calls to anyone who'd pickup the phone. If you have a problem with a purchased product you are on your own. There are better merchants out there, best choose another.
3

11 months ago

  •  

review by tmarmon

I got the Sony BDV-HZ970W Home Theater System . Best price anywhere and great customer service.
5

11 months ago

  •  

review by besttechdeals

Product was advertised as "3 in stock", I placed the order and they charged credit card the same day. Next day I received e-mail that product is backordered and they will be cancelling my order. It did take them a week to refund charges on my credit card. After all this experience with thenerds.net I was able to order the same product from other retailer for the same price and received it in one week. They still keep sending me offers to buy from them extended waranty for the prduct they never sold me.
3

11 months ago

  •  

review by erl70

I really should have come here first before I ordered from these scheisters. I ordered a lamp. Of course it was defective...and guess what? No refunds OR exchanges! Go figure! So they just take your money and ship you trash. I'm so glad I paid rush shipping for them to send me junk.
3

11 months ago

  •  

review by mleejr

About thenerds.net

No description for this company.

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Sign in to write your review

You’re moments away from writing your review.

Sign in

or sign in with