Ferry booking

4.6 / 5

Ferry booking

4.6 Great
For scoring calculation, we evaluate more than 25 parameters.

4.6 / 5

Main Score

3.7

Reviews

5

Social

5

Featured

4.5

Technical

We are evaluating more than 25 parameters for scoring calculation.

Reviews Analysis

99

reviews

vs

0

AI declined reviews

0%

NON VALIDATED REVIEWS

Satisfied

Unsatisfied

About Ferry booking

Compare ferry prices timetables

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Last update: Tue, Jan 19, 2021 12:00 AM

Write a review

Point: Great

Review directferries.co.uk

Ferry booking Reviews (99)

Disgraceful company with nonexistent customer service.
I booked a ferry three days before I was due to travel, within 24 hrs I required to amend my return crossing so submitted my request the same day. I heard nothing so thought I would enquire onboard the outbound crossing. The Stena Line staff were very helpful & provided me with a phone number to call Direct Ferries, I got a voicemail, not at all helpful.
The Stena Line staff then stepped in & amended my return crossing within 5 minutes of my request, excellent service.
Then 9 hours after disembarking the ship this morning I got an email from Direct Ferries informing me that “unfortunately my booking cannot be amended”. Unbelievable!
I would not recommend Direct Ferries to anyone & will certainly not consider using them again.
If you want a decent service deal directly with the ferry company, specifically Stena Line who were first class.
3

7 months ago

  •  

review by John Brewer

Still no contact from Direct Ferries and I have noticed there are some 5 star reviews that have started appearing on here with one line reviews?!?!? Wow direct ferries, is that how you operate by putting false reviews on here!

Disgraceful company who are happy to ignore you and keep your money!!!
3

7 months ago

  •  

review by Tony M

Customer service is no existent. If there is any lower than one star, i would have chosen it. Contacted back on 20/03/20 in connection with booking, i made through them, for 20/04/20. Today is 19/05/20. Not resolved. i have tried through the carrier, but they send be back to Direct Ferries, as they are my booking agent. Catch-22, and Direct Ferries in no rush or any will to help. Will never use again.
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Mr Petar Botushanov

Disgraceful. No way at all of making contact to customer services with in 24h .
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by customer

Absolute disaster of a company. Never reply to emails, phone lines are closed and no refund or credit for a Ferry booking that came and went in April.

The worst part of this is that the actual ferry operator is offering travel credits to those that have booked directly with them and this shower of **** just take people's money and run.

I hope they get their comeuppance after all this is over
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Owen

Many messages sent via their “contact us” facility regarding cancellation and refund due to Covid-19. Not even the courtesy of a response. Surely there must be a “body” we can report them to!!! Shocking service
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Sandy Beykirch

After an email from 'Antoinette' saying I would be refunded within 14 days, 3 weeks later I'm still waiting, this is despite you telling me you have been reimbursed by Stenna Line.

I really want to post a positive review and will do when this is resolved.

Can somebody please look into this?
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Eric

Your website is easy to use and hassle free i book via direct ferries rather than respective ferry operators which i find too time consuming keep up the good work and thankyou
.John O Driscoll
5

8 months ago

  •  

review by mr O DRISCOLL

Smooth experience and well organised.
My only complaint is the rudeness of the travel info clerk (he was at the desk on the 22:00 ferry, 16/05/2020, Dover-Dunkirk): as we asked where the passenger seats were, he claimed only one section was available because “there shouldn’t even be passengers at this time” (CoVid-19, I guess he referred to?).
We are traveling last minute for emergency health reasons, not for pleasure: he is not entitled to make us feel unwelcome and underestimate the possible reasons one is traveling for.
The service was great, but he was unprofessional.
4

8 months ago

  •  

review by customer

I found it much more difficult than previously to get it to accept what I wanted to enter and had to go back several times, as it seemed that fields that I had filled had been changed to something else. Then when I got to the final stage, my Sabadell card wasn't accepted, as I'd disabled cookies, but when I tried my BBVA card it worked fine.I knew what ferry I wanted to catch, and eventually I got it to accept the information, so all good in the end.
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by George

hi then is the first time we will be traveling with their ferries we hope we are very happy with then mvh sardar
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by customer

We should've been travelling tomorrow, 16th. May 2020, but despite me contacting them via thier online contact form, we haven't heard anything from Direct Ferries since our booking was confirmed back in November 2019.
Thier web page states that the ferry companies are offering to amend booking or issue vouchers, but all our ferry company has done is refer us back to Direct Ferries, because they are the booking agents.
Despite a global pandemic and a country wide lockdown on unessential travel, Direct Ferries answer is to shut phone lines and ignore contact via thier webpage contact form.
We stand to lose £332 through no fault of our own. What a disreputable company.
I doubt they won't be slow to reply to this review with some useless advice.
I have contacted the UK Governments Competition & Marketing Authority regarding this matter. We strongly suggest you do the same. The more customers contacting the Government regarding issues with refunds from this company the more chance of action being taken against them.
We have found an email address for Direct Ferries if you haven't already tried it: customerdotserviceatdirectferriesdotcom.
We are attempting to contact them via this email address. We'll keep this post updated.
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Mr. P.C. Howell

DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY.
No back up, no communication, little more than thieves.
The sooner they are out of business the better
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by MR HALES

This is my second booking and I've not received my voucher for my first crossing you said you had sent me a email I've not received so it would be nice to be compensated thank you my first booking ref no is DFP133466198
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Mr a a maden

Absolute disgrace, booked sailing Dover to Dunkirk in April, cancelled due to COVID19 through manage my booking and sent 3 emails through contact us form. No reply no acknowledgement. Only message we received was to ask if we enjoyed our trip and leave a review!!! I did leave a review but not about the journey!!! Have sent 3 complaints unsurprisingly no acknowledgement. We have reported them to Competition and Markets Authority as advised by another very unsatisfied customer. How are these people allowed to stay in business? They were still taking bookings through the lockdown. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Jasmin Thomson

Shame on this company. they have robbed us (in our 70s )of £358..ignore us when we ask fo information and now have had the nerve too even block their e mail.
dont even think of using this den of thieves.
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by catherine mount

I was due to go to sunparks belgium for a holiday break with my grandchildrennext week.
Due to COVID19 Belgium government have closed Sunparks. UK government state there should only be essential travel. I cannot therefore go on this short break with my grand children.
I have tried to cancel my booking with Direct Ferries via the manage my booking process but this just states "is “Unfortunately this ticket cannot be cancelled or amended. If you would like to travel on another date please make a new booking.”
I have sent several message via the online contact form as their phone lines have been closed.
Despite their website stating "Due to the exceptional nature of Covid-19, ferry operators are offering customers the option to amend their booking to a future date or receive vouchers for a future booking. We appreciate your understanding and support during these exceptional circumstances. "
I have had no response concerning my request for an amerendment/refund or even an acknowledgement of receipt of my request.
Can anyone one please advise me if they have successfully taken action through the small claims court as this would appear to be the only way this conpany willbe forced to respond to any request.
I also informed the company that I was an armed forces veteran living on my forces pension and that a refund would be my preferred option as it would be unlikely I could afford to rebook this break in the forseeable future which would render a voucher unuseable. This further advice would also appear to have fallen on deaf ears.
If nothing else I would hope this review and comments will assist other in deciding whether or not to use this company. I certainly will not be giving them any more money
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Vetran

Convenient service. Booked 2 hours from the French Peage above Paris and sailed from Calais to Dover 2 hours later... Superb!
5

8 months ago

  •  

review by R M O'BRIEN

I booked a ferry in December to go to France for the VE Day celebration weekend. I booked it with the additional cancellation cover. In case we needed to cancel for any reason. Due to the Coronavirus situation I tried to cancel this booking in April. Their website wouldn't allow this, it was only giving an option to amend for a future date. I have now sent them 4 emails, via their 'contact us' link. The first one sent 16th April, then 27th April, 4th May & one today. I haven't received a single acknowledgement. I don't even know if the link actually works. Thankfully I have taken copies of every one as proof. I will never use this company again. I would recommend that you book direct with the ferry companies. The current situation is bad enough, without companies going rogue too & not refunding something when you have taken the additional insurance on the booking.
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Lisa Stanley

Direct Ferries have been completely and utterly reprehensible in our situation, in relation to providing a refund through COVID-19. We're so disappointed.

We were booked to use their services and had to change our booking through the beginning of the COVID-19 dramas. Admittedly we had to change our booking a few times and for some they were very willing to provide a refund. For 2 bookings they have categorically refused and said that even though we reside in Australia and have no way to use a credit (which is all that they have provided us) as there will be no international travel for the next year or two at least.

We will be back to Ireland and the UK eventually but we would encourage anyone who was considering using the ferry to catch a flight...this organisation have cheated us out of money that they didn't earn, especially during a time when EVERY other provider we encountered was willing to offer FULL REFUNDS.

Our recommendation is to NOT USE this organisation.
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Geneva Humphreys

Whilst these are undoubtedly very difficult times, I can not recommend booking with this company.

I was due to sail to Zeebrugge on the 2nd of May. P&O had alerted me to the fact that the ferry was cancelled, direct did not. Prior to this, I’d tried to contact them several times regarding rebooking as we were travelling with a dog. Zero emails to me regarding anything, not even a holding email.

I am now trying to cancel my ferry in June from Toulon to Alcudia, I paid extra at the time for a flexible booking. You are not able to cancel directly through the APP. The message is that Direct Ferries will come back to you.

For my previous booking, I’ve now instructed my credit card company to recover the cost of the ticket.

Maybe people are doing their best in the situation, who knows? Can’t keep throwing good money after bad though. :-(
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Drew Wolfenden

Unless!!!!? Finally got a code to redeem as they wouldn't give me a refund yet the code doesn't work on DFDs website and can't find anywhere to redeem a code with direct ferries! Biggest scam company ever! Just give me the money you OWE or give me a f****** code that works!!! I would MASSIVELY avoid this company I really hope they go out of business with how bad they have handled this. Just checked my voucher is just my reference number! Just want my money back or a proper voucher
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Johnathon Walker

Direct Ferries / Cheap Ferries, I really regret booking with this firm. Unable to amend our booking. No response from them by phone and incomprehensible via internet.
AVOID THIS COMPANY.
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Dorothy Rigg

My husband and I have sent them several emails now and contacted through the contact page regarding our cancelled ferry from Barcelona to Mallorca on May 2nd and return trip. We started contacting them several days before the departure and also within 72 hours before departure as requested, But to no avail. We have not received a response. On April 25th we received an sms that the ferry was cancelled but no correspondence since then! It is clear from this forum that the response from Direct Ferries regarding the current crisis is less than desirable! Thank you.
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Monique Dekker

We want to cancel our ferry due to covid-19 for July ,sent many emails to Direct ferries NO reply.The only option is to change the sailing date as per the booking form.This company is a joke NO contact tel only a email address which they do not reply. Will notify the necessary complaint authorities to voice my frustration at Direct ferries. This company is a DISGRACE.
3

8 months ago

  •  

review by Mr Pilsworth

Satisfied

Unsatisfied

About Ferry booking

Compare ferry prices timetables

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Sign in to write your review

You’re moments away from writing your review.

Sign in

or sign in with