Hillarys

4.5 / 5

Hillarys

4.5 Great
For scoring calculation, we evaluate more than 25 parameters.

4.5 / 5

Trust Score

3.3

Reviews

5

Social

5

Featured

4.5

Technical

We are evaluating more than 25 parameters for scoring calculation.

Reviews Analysis

87

reviews

vs

0

AI declined reviews

0%

NON VALIDATED REVIEWS

Best in Interior Designer

Curbly curbly.com
5 5

Trust score (5/5)

Curbly is DIY Design Decor for People Who Love Where They Live

Como decorar mi cuarto comodecorarmicuarto.com
5 5

Trust score (5/5)

Ideas y diseños para decorar tu cuarto sin gastar mucho dinero Geniales ideas que harán inspirarte para decorar tu habitación Lo ultimo en decoración

architecturaldepot.com architecturaldepot.com
5 5

Trust score (5/5)

Carleton Varney carletonvarney.com
4.9 4.9

Trust score (4.9/5)

Carleton Varney is one of America’s most well known interior designers. Shop Carleton`s exclusive designs.

Design Dazzle designdazzle.com
4.9 4.9

Trust score (4.9/5)

Welcome to Design Dazzle I created this site to share fabulous decorating ideas and design inspiration for babies kids and teens

IntoConcrete intoconcrete.com
4.8 4.8

Trust score (4.8/5)

Celebrating Concrete in Design Architecture and Technology From buildings to jewelry and everything in between

Interior Design Diy Ideas Home Decor amazinginteriordesign.com
4.8 4.8

Trust score (4.8/5)

Interior Design Magazine Diy Life hacks and great ideas Check out the amazing trends and get tons of ideas by images an photos

Zilli Home zillihome.com
4.8 4.8

Trust score (4.8/5)

Zilli Home is a fashion home furnishings brand with storefront and optimal e-commerce shopping experience. Handpicked and designed exclusive furniture and home furnishings to indulge the modern interior designer or home owner. In home consultation services and white glove delivery service sets us apart.

ISHKA ishka.com.au
4.6 4.6

Trust score (4.6/5)

ishka.com.au

Style My Home stylemyhome.com.au
4.6 4.6

Trust score (4.6/5)

Style My Home Australia is a furniture store sourcing treasures for interiors outdoor areas and unique decor We even work with an interior designer

Based on 30518 reviews

Reviews io

2.27

193 reviews

Trustpilot

4.4

30325 reviews

Satisfied

Unsatisfied

About Hillarys

Shop Hillarys™ Made to Measure Blinds, Curtains, Shutters & Awnings! Full Measuring and Fitting Service Included. Book a FREE In-Home Design Appointment & Order Samples Today!

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Last update: Thu, Jan 28, 2021 9:45 AM

Write a review

Point: Great

Review hillarys.co.uk

Hillarys Reviews (87)

Filter reviews by tags

delivery 2.8 /5

price 3.6 /5

quality 3.3 /5

refund 2.3 /5

customer service 2.2 /5

We ordered expensive electric conservatory blinds in 2018 and were looking forward to having a great feature for our house. The blinds were supposed to be installed over 1 day in March 2019, but the fitter left the job half done, with many blinds missing, wires dangling, and blinds not working. A fitter was supposed to return to complete the job on several occasions, but either didn't turn up or came to say the blinds he had wouldn't fit. It is now August 2020 and we are no further forward. I would not recommend Hillarys Blinds under any circumstances.
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by V. Y.

Avoid this company. I never write reviews but I must warn unsuspecting new home owners such as myself. Firstly customer service from the measuring visit was awful. The person turned up, had a look at 4 windows and quoted £2.5k (for roller blinds) as an estimate without even bothering to measure size. Secondly the price kept going down first it was £2.5k then £1.3k then £900-1100 if we were to go off the books and go with this person’s side business privately. I was seeing red flags at this point and said I wasn’t interested if it was at those prices. He then asked me how much I was expecting the job to cost and I said £700-800 (for 4 plain roll blinds) he said if I wasn’t prepared to pay around £500 per window then there would be no point of him even measuring up and wasting time. He then condescendingly looked around my house and said Hillarys is the gold standard of window furnishings and it’s not something I could order off ikea (as a first time home owner I admit I do have a lot of ikea stuff but it was so rude to sneer at me for it). I responded that the website should just list prices to avoid wasting everyone’s time and then he left. But just before he left he said if the office calls for a follow up because the measurements were not recorded, I would need to say that it was I who changed my mind on the day and declined the service (not that he wouldn’t bother measuring it if I couldn’t afford it anyways!). It was an awful and belittling experience and I felt bullied in my own home which is supposed to be a safe haven. Hillary’s is such a con, why would 1 plain roller blind on a small kitchen window cost £500? It’s extortionate. I did my whole house for a quarter of their quoted price from a homeware store on the high street. I really think they are ripping off gullible people. Although after reading some of the other reviews, I think I dodged a bullet. It seems I was saved from an incompetent and unprofessional service. There needs to be some kind of trading standards investigation into this place. It’s bizarre that trust pilot reviews are all 5 stars but on this site it’s more balanced.
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by L. T.

#price(1/5) #customer service(1/5)

Fitted in December 2019, cost £700. Pull cord broke in 5 days, sent a new one that was two short. Blinds not measured and fitted correctly. They do not pull up. One blind is broken and won’t open as it’s too big for the recess and the pull cord doesn’t work. They have still not fixed them and I would rather have them removed and a full refund as they are unsightly and not fit for purpose. If I could give less than one star I would. Customer service have sent the wrong things twice and I will never use them again. I have used Hilary’s for over 25 years and the service is not what it was.
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by Cordell Lewis

#refund(1/5) #customer service(1/5)

A total waste of my time. Placed an order at the start of June, delivery supposed to be 4th August which did not happen and neither did the subsequent delivery date given. The company do not keep people informed and you have to chase them constantly for updates. They do not keep you informed. I will never use them again and would urge anyone to consider seriously before placing an order with them. I sent a letter of complaint and just received a generic email they most probably send to everyone
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by Jayne

#delivery(1/5)

Still waiting for Hillary’s to contact me for fitting my blinds, phoned customer services three times made all the noises but did nothing, paid in full for the blinds, That was a big mistake. Maybe if I just a payed a small deposit, they might a have been quicker to respond to my calls
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by Daphne Hinson

#customer service(1/5)

I don't think there are enough words for me to express how bad and extremely disappointing the customer service is at Hillarys and how awful the experience with the company has been. I decided to leave Hillary's this bad review so this experience doesn't happen to someone else. It all started with arranging an appointment online to our new flat. Chris was extremely nice and measured everything, he was very helpful and gave us really good suggestions on how we should do the curtains etc. After the appointment we thought we were dealing with the professional company they claim to be on their website, and their history, and their helpful team which so far (Apart from Chris) has been an absolute lie and a farce. One of the reasons we decided to confirm our order on the day was because the fitting would take place on the 7th September and we were happy to proceed with half of the payment which was 2.5k. The reason the date was an ice breaker for us to go ahead was because we are on a ground floor flat in the middle of a huge development and curtains are essential. I got a call from what I believe is another Chris 4 days before our install day to tell me that the manufacturer of the voiles has stopped producing the fabric and they are not doing them anymore. I was shocked to hear that I wasn't informed of something like this considering it was over a month since we placed the order. So I decided to call Hillary's the next day to check what was going on. I spoke to someone called "Matt", and he guaranteed me that the install was still going ahead on the 7th with the exception of the voiles which the fitter will just come back a few days after to hang them. On the 7th I had to take the day unpaid to be there for the fitting as I cannot work from home. After 1 hour when the fitter was supposed to arrive I called Hillary's to find out what was going on and ended up speaking with "Sharon". She told me that it was not true that the voiles were not being produced but there was just a delay and that Covid was the reason. May I clarify that if you haven't been able to adapt to the new normal COVID life you shouldn't promise anything to your customers. Covid is NOT an excuse to offer awful service, negligence and miss deadlines. So at this point "Matt" blatantly lied to me about the appointment still going ahead and to top it all up I spoke with Chris and told me that he cannot install them that way and he doesn't know why "Matt" would say that. Back to "Sharon", she said that the voiles would arrive on Thursday the 10th and Chris will be in contact with me. I called on Friday 11th in the morning fuming as I haven't heard from anyone and spoke to someone (I don't remember her name) and after asking for some sort of compensation and to speak with the manager she gave me a mare £150 compensation fee on a 5K order. I lost £150 by having to take the day unpaid so that just covers my losses so not really a compensation there. Chris called me later that day to arrange the appointment for Wednesday 16th because Hillary's guaranteed him that the voiles were shipped to him. It goes without saying that at this point I obviously wanted to cancel this order and go and order from someone else. Ikea would have done a better job with the curtains. But all I got from the people mentioned above was threats that if I retrieve the payment they will be sending me debt collectors. It is now Monday 14th, I got a call from Chris mentioning that he didn't receive the voiles from Hillary's but he was going to request them be couriered but Wednesday 16th was not going to happen, Thursday 17th was possible (Which I cannot take unpaid) or it will be an extra week. He mentioned he was going to find out what is happening and get back to me within an hour. He didn't contact me so I decided to call Hillary's for the 4th time. I spoke to someone else in Hillary's obviously to a whole other level of anger to only find out that replacement voiles had been reordered and they will not arrive before the 24th, so by the time I get to arrange another appointment and that's considering if Hillarys don't joke me around any more I would be without curtains for a month. At this point I requested to speak with a manager and apparently I can't but someone will be in contact within 24 hours but I don't have much faith to hear from him/her. Here I am leaving this review and still no news if I'll ever see the curtains in my flat or the debt collectors instead So if you as a customer are considering buying from this company please DON'T. They WILL NOT deliver you on time, they will take your money, they will scare you with debt collectors, and above all their customer service is one of the most awful ones I've seen in any industry. And if you are in my situation right now just google the CEO's email, easy to find and send him an email like I did asking him about my curtains. PS: Go to John Lewis for curtains
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by Ivan

#customer service(1/5)

I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.. be aware If there is a zero star I would even give. Extremely unprofessional customer services after the order and throughout... the engineer took wrong measurements for my 3 windows !!! Yes three!!! And ironically he didnt find out until after he fitted them !!!?? Faild to fix the problems... and its been dragging on for almost 7 month now... engineer was lying to me about booking appointments... he never showed up after even booking appointments... never replied to texts very very unprofessional I wouldn't recommend them to anyone
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by MR OUSSAMA TOUMA

#customer service(1/5)

The representative who came to measure the windows in May has been incredibly rude. I ended up going with ordering real wood blinds which has arrived today 30 September. They had arrived not according to the order however had several issues one of them being white tape which I didn’t not ask for. I specifically remember we decided no tapes as they were about £25/ window extra. I wanted the simple cord. He representative himself said “yeah, I agree with you. You wouldn’t have ordered white tape on dark coloured blinds”. I am awaiting to see when they make the correct blinds according to specifications we agreed on when I placed an order.
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by Z. R.

The fitter came to measure for our blinds but when they arrived for fitting the blinds were too small and did not work. The fitter refused to talk to us and his own customer service colleagues. We got our money refunded. Agreed with them for the blinds to be collected within two weeks but have yet to appear after four weeks! Total lack of service from all at Hillary’s.Not to be recommended .
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by M. M.

#refund(1/5) #customer service(1/5)

COMPLAINT MADE ON 28th August. Still waiting for reply in writing. As CEO of Hillary’s I feel it would be beneficial for you to read my current experiences with your company,  trying to purchase 4 roller blinds for my families home. This is a complaint and I want it investigated fully due to the numerous failings and appalling service from your team, as I have tried my very best to sort this. I am a new customer to Hillary’s, and chose you as I have always been advised by friends and family that “you can’t beat Hillarys’ their service is incredible and their blinds are the best”. I can safely say once you have digested this, you will probably appreciate that I do not agree with this statement at all. I have had nothing but issues and no communication from anyone on all my contacts made. It’s beyond disgusting how I’ve been treated as a customer. I will list events starting from the beginning so that you have a full picture: 1. 15/07 - We move into our new home. We had already scheduled from our previous address to have Hillary’s visit on the 16th July. 2. 16/07 - Mark Carruthers arrives. We agree and enter a contract on 4 blinds, in 3 rooms (2 daughters bedrooms & master) and in ours this did include 2 motorised blinds. Total cost £1016. 3. 16/07 - On the same morning, at the same time as Mark being present I cancelled a ‘Made to Measure‘ appointment with Dunelm, due to Marks sales pitch, which was taking place ‪at 1pm‬ that day. 4. 20/07 - 7.27am - EMAIL - Order confirmation received. This has an INCORRECT colour on one of the blinds quoted within the Master bedroom. 5. 21/07 - 8.37am - CALL - I call Mark and leave VM explaining that we need to rectify this, BEFORE I will make payment. 6. 21/07  - EMAIL - I email Mark backing up VM to see if we can get this issue sorted ASAP. 7. 21/07 - Over 2 calls (8.49 + 8.50) Mark suggests dropping off his Portfolio folder so I can confirm which colour it was supposed to be, on the order. 8. 21/07 - Portfolio folder is dropped off. My husband takes it in. 9. 23/07 - 10.32am - CALL. I call Mark, leave VM as there are colour swatches missing from the Portfolio, and the one I am trying to compare isn’t present. 10. 23/07 - 10.41am - CALL. Mark calls back. 11. 24/07 - 3.52pm - EMAIL. I send an email to Mark saying this is still not resolved as the swatch isn’t in the Portfolio and I’ve had this Portfolio for a while now and when was he going to get this sorted and collect it ?!? 12. 24/07 - 4.21pm - EMAIL. I receive an email from Mark saying that he had entered a generic colour, and he forgot to update, hence the incorrect colour. He will call me when he is finished with a client. 13. 27/07 - 8.16pm - CALL. ‘NOTHING’. No call from Mark since 24/07. I call and leave VM. 14. 28/07 - 12.40pm - CALL. Still nothing! I call and leave another VM. 15. 30/07 - 11.13am - CALL. I give Mark one more chance, so that’s 3 VM’s, and 4 days of absolutely nothing. 16. 30/07 - 1.05pm - CALL. I am beyond fed up, Mark has gone AWOL, with no voicemail explaining he is on leave, no email auto-reply, nothing. I phone Head Office on ‪0800 328 4196‬. We were on the way to a Farm with the girls, so we had my phone on speaker so we could both talk. Husband was driving. We speak with Lorraine. We both talk and explain we are very angry and want a complaint logged. Lorraine advises that she doesn’t think we warrant talking to anyone else, when I asked to speak to a manager and that she feels “I’ve done a good job with this call and no need for a complaint” and she is an Account Manager and we won’t be speaking with anyone else. She couldn’t explain the Complaints policy at all. Completely missing the whole point of a Complaint policy. Complaints are a customers choice, and I was even more fuming after speaking with Lorraine, the customer service was appalling. She actually said to us “this is the first time you’ve rang Head Office” and I was trying to advise her that I should never be in a position to NEED to ring HQ, as the process should work. HQ is for when things DO NOT work and they should be able to get it sorted as a priority******Didn’t get chance to finish the call as she HUNG up on us !!! --23445 --23531 -bg -ca -cheonan-331-810 -cheonan-331-830 -coffe-delight-kyiv-city-02000 content.zip -curtains-co-uk -d-animations -day-shop --day-store domains domainsdl.zip domains.tar.gz domains.zip -d-prima -dxr -eatery-darwen -electrician-info -feet-shoes-com -games-com -gasia-com -grams-chaussee-berlin-10115 -home-a-s-brno --home-zone -hour-fitness-apopka -hwritemyessay -i-l-b-nh-k-o-ho-n-ki-m- -inks-co-uk -kings-bench-walk latest.zip -long-lashes-by-oceanic -markets-com mc-root -mopeds -mx -ofthose-com -on-boxingfitness-com -osteopathy-covent-garden -petneeds -points -queens-street -rdstreetboxing-com reviewsio_urls -s-casual-ltd -seemeilen-de-gmbh -sold -south-chopside-greater-london-tw27qz -stcentral -st-choice-insurance -st-for-fabrics -stitch-com -street -s-u-com systemd-private-c491ea30cdf7439bac5c7e16bc0040d7-apache2.service-9aSDI9 -tall-com -taxi-lancaster -tehran- -the-ninestm -three -to-com -trades -u-carparts -vape -vente-privee -volt-planet -weddingcards -wheelparts -wimpole-street wordpress 17. 30/07 - 11.16pm. EMAIL. I send yet ANOTHER email to Mark asking where on earth he is and whether he wants our business ?! 18. 30/07 - 1.23pm - CALL. SUDDENLY we receive a call, obviously spurred on by Lorraine and my call with her 15 mins ago. Shocking that he has no inclination or care to call me back when I call, but responds to HQ, so would have to have listened to his VM’s. He advises he has had 31 calls from customers and then he advised that he went away for his wedding anniversary. I say to him it would be a good idea to let people know where you are ! I work for a large corporations so I understand the processes and business continuity requirements that come with this, but a answerphone message with an alternative contact is not rocket science. It’s just common sense. 19. 31/07 - 6.02am - EMAIL. Email from Mark saying that to contact him if no-one calls me from HQ by ‪2.30pm‬. 20. 31/07 - 17.17pm. - CALL. I call Mark - surprise (!!) no one calls me and I leave VM. 21. 31/07 - 17.25pm - CALL. Mark calls me back (3 mins long) more “shocking news that no one has called you back” - Mark. 22. 31/07 - 17.36pm - CALL. Mark calls after chasing HQ again - what’s going on?! How difficult is it to update an order, take a deposit and send a fitter round ?!?? Absolute madness. 23. 02/08 - 2.28pm - CALL. I call Mark again, leave VM. 24. 03/08 - 7.58am - EMAIL. Email sent to Mark. Yet another epic failure, I was promised a call from him after ‪1pm‬ on the 02/08 and I get nothing. Service is a joke!!!! 25. 03/08 - 2.07pm - CALL. Yet ANOTHER attempt at making contact with Mark. Left VM. 26. 04/08 - 6.44pm - CALL. Yet ANOTHER attempt at making contact with Mark. Left VM. 27. 04/08 - 7.10pm - CALL. Mark calls me back. Still no idea why no order, no payment, no fitter yet trying to get this sorted with his manager. 28. 04/08 - 9.46pm - EMAIL. Email sent to Mark asking if this is a wind-up?! We had received some marketing in the post asking if we wanted to put any more orders through, with money-off coupons as IF we were existing customers by now. Appalling and made me feel very angry. Like our ‘noses are being rubbed’ in it! 29. 05/08 - 7.35am - CALL. Another call to Mark chasing up everything. Advised that he will call me back by end of the day. 30. 05/08 - 8.17pm - CALL. ANOTHER call, another VM, another failed promise to call me back. 31. 05/08 - 9.06pm - EMAIL. Email from Mark. “Complete shock as to how this is still going on, never had so many emails from one customer”. He advised he was visiting Friday to apologise in person. 32. 06/08 - CALL. Steve (Fitter) called. Scheduled in measuring session for the 08/08 - 23 days after our sales meeting!!! 33. 06/08 - VISIT PM - Mark turns up with flowers apologising and showed us some emails that he had been sending to try and rectify things. He advised that this all stemmed from the Fitter it was issued too having too many jobs and thinking that my Order included a Motorised BAY window blind and “being lazy” chose to reject it. (We have both a BAY, and a motorised blind request but not for that window). The fitter had read it wrong. Apparently after 10 days of our job being in limbo, it was then issued to the SAME fitter! Mark advised that ‘I should email the CEO’ with details of the issues we’ve had. Sadly though some of the issues sit with his inability to manage customer expectations, maintain communication and follow through on promises. He even advised my husband and I that he had told his boss that he “wasn’t taking anymore of her calls”. Due to the fact that HQ should be picking this up, but NOONE was dealing. I presume to help drive ownership. He advised that he had referenced a number of times that my husband has a particular job role, which is a breach of GDPR. This is personal sensitive information and should NEVER be shared with anyone, unless at the request of the customer and / OR relevant to the task. I understand that he may have been doing this to try to gain traction on ownership but this needs reporting as a breach. 34. ******ABOVE - THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE --23445 --23531 -bg -ca -cheonan-331-810 -cheonan-331-830 -coffe-delight-kyiv-city-02000 content.zip -curtains-co-uk -d-animations -day-shop --day-store domains domainsdl.zip domains.tar.gz domains.zip -d-prima -dxr -eatery-darwen -electrician-info -feet-shoes-com -games-com -gasia-com -grams-chaussee-berlin-10115 -home-a-s-brno --home-zone -hour-fitness-apopka -hwritemyessay -i-l-b-nh-k-o-ho-n-ki-m- -inks-co-uk -kings-bench-walk latest.zip -long-lashes-by-oceanic -markets-com mc-root -mopeds -mx -ofthose-com -on-boxingfitness-com -osteopathy-covent-garden -petneeds -points -queens-street -rdstreetboxing-com reviewsio_urls -s-casual-ltd -seemeilen-de-gmbh -sold -south-chopside-greater-london-tw27qz -stcentral -st-choice-insurance -st-for-fabrics -stitch-com -street -s-u-com systemd-private-c491ea30cdf7439bac5c7e16bc0040d7-apache2.service-9aSDI9 -tall-com -taxi-lancaster -tehran- -the-ninestm -three -to-com -trades -u-carparts -vape -vente-privee -volt-planet -weddingcards -wheelparts -wimpole-street wordpress 35. 08/08 - VISIT - Steve (Fitter) turns up. Turns out measurements of cassette piece very wrong and would have been sitting out of recess, and Mark had ordered a plastic white chain, and he asked if we wanted a metal one, and I said of course. We weren’t asked. It became apparent that a lot of the finer details were not considered nor were we asked. Disappointing. Fitting scheduled in for the 22/08, which was a Saturday and Steve’s day off. He was already doing this job as a favour as he lives in our area, but now also doing the install on his day off as he had no capacity. You would think a Manager would take into their hands to ensure that Steve is looked after and move a job or two based on priority calls on customers so that you are not running your staff into the ground, through overworking! A great example of when required maybe a customer that has had umpteen issues, 35 touch points (to date) on trying to get some bulk standard roller blinds installed would be a start!!!!! 36. 12/08 - 1.02pm - EMAIL. I send a email to Mark. He advised he would get someone to call the following day of his visit to take payment, but 6 days later and NOTHING has happened. Our business and money is a joke to Hillary’s clearly. All I can say is BEST OF LUCK when you read my reviews of this experience on the various review sites including TrustPilot. It’s so poor it looks like it’s made up! 37. 17/08 - AM - CALL - Random call from Debbie (Brown) in HQ. I ranted at her when she explained that our fabric wasn’t in stock and that it would be yet another week. I talked her through everything and she could see lots of notes, but every single one of them CLOSED down, but not ONE comment/ call/ communication in anyway to me on what’s happened/happening and how you are sorting this. She was the first person that I felt I could trust as I believed she would own this and gave her the chance to call me back on the 25/08 as she promised, she would once she had checked the stock had come in. She said she would call me back once she had spoken with Management with regards to my request for financial compensation for this shambles. She would then reduce this from the final payment and we could move forward, should this be acceptable. 38. 25/08 - NO CALL 39. 26/08 - CALL. AM - Turns out Debbie had gone home with a migraine yesterday, hence no call. From a business continuity perspective you could have all your urgent calls logged in a central system managed by an activity manager/ task driven system that is then spread to remaining colleagues so customers get call backs when they are promised. You can not do anything about sickness but you can think about how you manage and service customers better. Debbie advised that she had an offer from Management of £100 as a “goodwill gesture”. I then went onto explain a “goodwill gesture” in the eyes of a complaint is not acceptance of responsibility or “blame” of an issue. Ie Hillary’s are not accepting responsibility for these issues and the fault is clearly with you, not me on this one. Debbie went to check with her manager and came back and confirmed that £100 was the limit and there was nothing more she could do. I did advise her that it was a massive insult for 6 weeks of shambolic customer service, and STILL no product. She supported my commentary that I would be complaining in writing and provided me in writing with your complaint procedure. Debbie was great and the first and only person to try and sort out this mess. It’s been 6 weeks, I have made no payment but I’ve stayed to try to help, persevere knowing that the product is the “best” but I want compensating for this. It would have been mega easy for me to go elsewhere and if it was my husbands choice, we would be long gone as customers. We want to have some shutters installed in our dining room; and right now I wouldn’t have consider Hillary’s for these, but I also felt that you deserved an opportunity to fix this. STILL WAITING - 12/09/20.
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by Natalie Younger-MacLellan

#customer service(1/5)

Appalling customer service, absolutely no communication, no return to my numerous phone calls, no communication about installation dates until I started complaining loudly and telephoning daily. The fitter lied about trying to get in touch with me, the blinds are poor quality, the shutters are damaged, and the blinds are all different sizes. I had to refit all 10 of the roller blinds as they were installed by an amateur, and not level. The main shutter scratches along the floor when it is opened, there is damage to the new floor where the fitter over cut the skirting boards.Nobody has returned my after sales calls. I wish I had gone to Ikea for the blinds and had a local business supply the shutters. Dreadful, dreadful business. Save your money.
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by A Kerr

#quality(1/5) #customer service(1/5)

Three months on left with a broken window and no blinds. Shocking customer service - stay away from Hilarys at all costs, had them out trying to get the blinds done 5 times now, each time there has been something wrong, like two blind instead of one long one, the motor not working, the motor not in the blind - it is a joke!
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by E. M.

#customer service(1/5)

Shocking service when my mum used them Rep not interested in even talking to my elderly mum really, he seemed extremely shallow, not really interested in what she wanted ,just making a sale I advised my mum not to go ahead as he didn’t really even know how to measure ,and because it was a bay window that needed a new pole he was uninterested , and completely stressed. When he brought the curtains round , they didn’t shut properly because he the pole was incorrect for the curtains He a tried to tell my mum they would be fine ,and didn’t need shutting Because I was there , I said we are not paying Until you put this right In the end he bought another colleague with him and the pole was changed ,obviously further cost ,which we didn’t mind , and the curtains were put up thanks to the other guy helping out The whole experience was ruined for my mum ,it was stressful and upsetting wondering if it was going to work out , while we were waiting for the curtains to be refitted after the first failure All of for the fee of over £500 Never again
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by Lisa Guy

Hillarys took half my money as a deposit and then closed my account without any intention to fit my shutters. They only realised their mistake after repeated emails and phonecalls from me over a period of 6 months. Thankfully the account was reopened once I asked what on earth was going on, and my shutters were finally fitted, but Hillarys refuse to acknowledge their mistake and continue to blame "manufacturing delays due to COVID" for their poor management. If I had not persisted to email and call for 6 months this would have resulted in them stealing over £1500 from me without me ever receiving my shutters. I have emailed them to seek some form of compensation or apology but now that the shutters are installed (and you have to pay the installer- who is a contractor and not an employee of Hillarys) they have stopped responding to my emails. The independent contractor they hired to fit my shutters did a great job and I am happy with the final result, but the standard of customer communication has been appalling for a purchase of several thousand pounds (the single biggest expense I have made for my home). In summary: woeful service and I will not be risking thousands of pounds with them again.
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by Victoria Mears

I ordered eight blinds from Hillary’s back in January 2020. I really like the sales rep who was really helpful. The fitter came round and measured everything. On the day of fitting in February/March 2020 four blinds were great, one blind wasnt ready in time and the wrong remote control was provided for the remaining three blinds. Those remaining three blinds were not fully fitted and was told to leave them until the correct remote arrives. COVID happens and waited to hear post lockdown. Was told multiple times by customer services that the fitter had everything he needed and would be in touch but he wouldn’t reply to my texts or voicemails. Finally had a date to finish the fitting but the fitter was a no show, this happened another time. By this time I must have call customer services about 10 times and got varying responses saying they had contacted a fitter and they would call me to saying they would call me back later that day. No one from Hillary’s called me back and customer services then told me someone should never say they would call me later that same day. After more calls to customer services I finally got a new fitter and date in August. The fitter has the remaining blind but not the remote. After more calls to customer services they finally posted the remote to me. I must have called 20 times to customer services and all that happens is they call the fitter/adviser and then tell the customer the fitter/adviser will call you and they never do. After 9 months I am still waiting for Hillary’s to fulfil my order and there is no apology from the company considering they have had my money the entire time. Would recommend everyone avoids using Hillary’s.
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by Simon

#customer service(1/5)

I will never ever buy anything from this company ever again, we should of had our blinds fitted in august, they never turned up,we complained numerous times, they were not interested, they told us we had to have the blinds fitted and we couldnt have our money back, we sent numerous letters which got ignored and emails, we took it to trading standards who told us to write letters which we did with no response so the next step was small claims court which we paid for, 2 days later we got a phone call from head office who was very apologetic and alovely lady, she told us we didnt have to pay anymore money and they would refund our court money which they did and our blinds were fitted after 3 months but no this company is a disappointment and we will be shopping somewhere else for the rest of our blinds.....
1

4 months ago

  •  

review by I. W.

#refund(1/5)

Can’t technically review their blinds as I had an appointment booked for a Hillary’s advisor to come round and advise on blinds, stayed in all afternoon and no one turned up (this being despite receiving a daily reminder that someone was coming). Got a call just after the 3 hour slot they provided, telling me he could be there in half an hour. Declined as it was far too late. Called customer services and no one seemed particularly bothered that I’d wasted my entire afternoon and only offered me the next available slot which wasn’t imminent. Not a great first impression and won’t be using Hillary’s after all nor will I be recommending them.
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by Leigh Q.

#customer service(3/5)

I recently got threatened with the bailiffs because I asked to cancel my ordered as they didn't have the material in to make my curtains, but took 3 weeks to tell me this. The man was very rude and said I was in breach of contract, but it was Hillary's who are in breach of contract for not delivering my curtains on the date agreed. In fact not even started making them. Appalling service, avoid at all cost.
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by Deleted User

Purchased Day to Night Connect Flint blinds and due to house move, asked fitter to take down the blinds, reinstall at our new property and measure up more windows so we could have flint blinds throughout. Fitter did not turn up for 5 pre booked appointments and failed to even phone to rebook. When we contacted Hillary’s asking for someone to attend, which they assured us would happen, the same fitter turned up demanding installation money. Terrible experience and would never use Hillary’s again. Appalling. Shocking response from Hillary’s. Been informed that there was a private agreement Between the fitter and ourselves. If a private charge was made, why weren’t we ever told about it and why was an invoice not sent to us. We had a total of 5 missed appointments. First time, no one showed us. Second time, we called him 30 minutes after the agreed time he was due to attend and he said he’d got mixed up with the appointment times as he had two appointments both with individuals called Rachel! Third missed appointment we were told he was stuck in Garstang, fourth and fifth missed appointments he just didn’t show up! We contacted Hillary’s who assured us a chap called Shahid would then come to the property between 9-12. Instead the previous fitter came, and when we explained that we wouldn’t be ordering any blinds with him due to his unreliability he then requested payment for installing 2 blinds. He became quite argumentative and intimidating when he was told no and eventually left our property. Hillary’s now tell us that the advisor became confused which is why she rebooked the same fitter to attend. Doesn’t quite make sense since we were told Shahid a different fitter would be attending! We would never use this company again and would advise anyone else to use extreme caution. Shocked and only when I have read similar complaints from other customers do you become aware that These fitters are self employed and commissioned based and sadly the service you receive is very much dependent on the fitter in your area. Please do be careful trusting these people in your homes
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by Rachel S.

Hillarys guarantee is only one year. I spent £2000 with them and the blind failed after 17 months. I thought I had Consumer Protection under the CPA 2015 so I could ask for a replacement which they agreed a at a cost of £40, I refused and took a claim in the Small Claims Court. They alleged misuse and I lost because I did not have an experts report.
3

10 months ago

  •  

review by Eric Pyle

Satisfied

Unsatisfied

About Hillarys

Shop Hillarys™ Made to Measure Blinds, Curtains, Shutters & Awnings! Full Measuring and Fitting Service Included. Book a FREE In-Home Design Appointment & Order Samples Today!

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Sign in to write your review

You’re moments away from writing your review.

Sign in

or sign in with