Hillarys

4.5 / 5

Hillarys

4.5 Great
For scoring calculation, we evaluate more than 25 parameters.

4.5 / 5

Main Score

3.3

Reviews

5

Social

5

Featured

4.5

Technical

We are evaluating more than 25 parameters for scoring calculation.

Reviews Analysis

87

reviews

vs

0

AI declined reviews

0%

NON VALIDATED REVIEWS

Satisfied

Unsatisfied

Shop Hillarys™ Made to Measure Blinds, Curtains, Shutters & Awnings! Full Measuring and Fitting Service Included. Book a FREE In-Home Design Appointment & Order Samples Today!

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Last update: Fri, Dec 4, 2020 12:45 PM

Write a review

Point: Great

Review hillarys.co.uk

Hillarys Reviews (73)

Filter reviews by tags

delivery 2.8 /5

price 3.6 /5

quality 3.3 /5

refund 2.3 /5

customer service 2.2 /5

I ordered eight blinds from Hillary’s back in January 2020. I really like the sales rep who was really helpful. The fitter came round and measured everything. On the day of fitting in February/March 2020 four blinds were great, one blind wasnt ready in time and the wrong remote control was provided for the remaining three blinds. Those remaining three blinds were not fully fitted and was told to leave them until the correct remote arrives. COVID happens and waited to hear post lockdown. Was told multiple times by customer services that the fitter had everything he needed and would be in touch but he wouldn’t reply to my texts or voicemails. Finally had a date to finish the fitting but the fitter was a no show, this happened another time. By this time I must have call customer services about 10 times and got varying responses saying they had contacted a fitter and they would call me to saying they would call me back later that day. No one from Hillary’s called me back and customer services then told me someone should never say they would call me later that same day. After more calls to customer services I finally got a new fitter and date in August. The fitter has the remaining blind but not the remote. After more calls to customer services they finally posted the remote to me. I must have called 20 times to customer services and all that happens is they call the fitter/adviser and then tell the customer the fitter/adviser will call you and they never do. After 9 months I am still waiting for Hillary’s to fulfil my order and there is no apology from the company considering they have had my money the entire time. Would recommend everyone avoids using Hillary’s.
1

23 hours ago

  •  

review by Simon

#customer service(1/5)

Read previous reviews from Simon
I will never ever buy anything from this company ever again, we should of had our blinds fitted in august, they never turned up,we complained numerous times, they were not interested, they told us we had to have the blinds fitted and we couldnt have our money back, we sent numerous letters which got ignored and emails, we took it to trading standards who told us to write letters which we did with no response so the next step was small claims court which we paid for, 2 days later we got a phone call from head office who was very apologetic and alovely lady, she told us we didnt have to pay anymore money and they would refund our court money which they did and our blinds were fitted after 3 months but no this company is a disappointment and we will be shopping somewhere else for the rest of our blinds.....
1

1 day ago

  •  

review by I. W.

#refund(1/5)

Read previous reviews from I. W.
Can’t technically review their blinds as I had an appointment booked for a Hillary’s advisor to come round and advise on blinds, stayed in all afternoon and no one turned up (this being despite receiving a daily reminder that someone was coming). Got a call just after the 3 hour slot they provided, telling me he could be there in half an hour. Declined as it was far too late. Called customer services and no one seemed particularly bothered that I’d wasted my entire afternoon and only offered me the next available slot which wasn’t imminent. Not a great first impression and won’t be using Hillary’s after all nor will I be recommending them.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Leigh Q.

#customer service(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Leigh Q.
I recently got threatened with the bailiffs because I asked to cancel my ordered as they didn't have the material in to make my curtains, but took 3 weeks to tell me this. The man was very rude and said I was in breach of contract, but it was Hillary's who are in breach of contract for not delivering my curtains on the date agreed. In fact not even started making them. Appalling service, avoid at all cost.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Deleted User

Read previous reviews from Deleted User
Purchased Day to Night Connect Flint blinds and due to house move, asked fitter to take down the blinds, reinstall at our new property and measure up more windows so we could have flint blinds throughout. Fitter did not turn up for 5 pre booked appointments and failed to even phone to rebook. When we contacted Hillary’s asking for someone to attend, which they assured us would happen, the same fitter turned up demanding installation money. Terrible experience and would never use Hillary’s again. Appalling. Shocking response from Hillary’s. Been informed that there was a private agreement Between the fitter and ourselves. If a private charge was made, why weren’t we ever told about it and why was an invoice not sent to us. We had a total of 5 missed appointments. First time, no one showed us. Second time, we called him 30 minutes after the agreed time he was due to attend and he said he’d got mixed up with the appointment times as he had two appointments both with individuals called Rachel! Third missed appointment we were told he was stuck in Garstang, fourth and fifth missed appointments he just didn’t show up! We contacted Hillary’s who assured us a chap called Shahid would then come to the property between 9-12. Instead the previous fitter came, and when we explained that we wouldn’t be ordering any blinds with him due to his unreliability he then requested payment for installing 2 blinds. He became quite argumentative and intimidating when he was told no and eventually left our property. Hillary’s now tell us that the advisor became confused which is why she rebooked the same fitter to attend. Doesn’t quite make sense since we were told Shahid a different fitter would be attending! We would never use this company again and would advise anyone else to use extreme caution. Shocked and only when I have read similar complaints from other customers do you become aware that These fitters are self employed and commissioned based and sadly the service you receive is very much dependent on the fitter in your area. Please do be careful trusting these people in your homes
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Rachel S.

Read previous reviews from Rachel S.
Hillarys guarantee is only one year. I spent £2000 with them and the blind failed after 17 months. I thought I had Consumer Protection under the CPA 2015 so I could ask for a replacement which they agreed a at a cost of £40, I refused and took a claim in the Small Claims Court. They alleged misuse and I lost because I did not have an experts report.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Eric Pyle

Read previous reviews from Eric Pyle
I ordered blinds and curtains from Hillarys but, unfortunately, have found their service so far to be poor and the fitter they assigned to me, Riki, a complete waste of my time. After ordering, my original fit date was pushed back at short notice as they didn't have the parts ready. When Riki came for the fitting, he couldn't complete it as a part was missing which he hadn't checked. Worst of all, after he scheduled to return, he didn't show up for the appointment and didn't bother letting me know or apologise for wasting my time. Made worse still as I had been in text contact with him during the day to check he was coming. A poor and unprofessional attitude - and not what I expected from the bright and inviting marketing that Hillarys promotes. So I am left with an incomplete job and not a good one at that, as there are flaws I wanted him to put right. I wish I used somebody else. I have followed up with Hillarys and received a call that somebody else would call me to follow-up but, so far, no apology, explanation or follow-up call. A real let down all round. Understandably, there are more important things in the world right now but worth calling out bad work for when things settle.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Mr. L.

Read previous reviews from Mr. L.
We ordered shutters in September 2019 and expected to be fitted by Nov 20th 2019. Today is 24th March, shutters still not fitted and no formal response from Hillarys about what they plan to do about it, no refund either. Absolutely awful experience and very unprofessional!
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Deleted User

#refund(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Deleted User
Absolutely appalling abhorrent customer… 1 star as 1 necessary to leave a review. Absolutely appalling abhorrent customer service from Hillarys. I was forced to wait 20 weeks for a patio shutter as the original with a 12 week wait had been measured not only incorrect however the complete wrong order made to what I ordered. Completely unfit for purpose. Didn’t fit the wall. I chased the issue 3 months after a few shutters had been fitted and wrote to Hillary’s customer service and received absolutely no courtesy response. The fitter may I add was a true gent. Now would you believe how lightening speed quick they are to ring for payment once a shutter I've waited nearly six months for arrives and I’m offered a ‘gesture’ of £50. Yes you read correctly £50. They think that is acceptable. My advice would be go elsewhere, you can get an extremely lower price with a made to measure service they clearly no longer offer on the primary visit. Even ‘% off sales’ don’t be drawn in by.. still more ludicrously expensive than many other competitors. I requested simply and primarily that the one shutter with all the issues we experienced should of been free of charge, simple as. No. Hillary’s insult you with a £50 fob off... Believe me, this company, and I’m not bitter I’ve used them for years due to their past exquisite service as have family and friends for years on recommendation. That ‘extra sophistication’ they always had and prided themselves on was worth it, however, in my factual experience they can no longer credit themselves with or supply this service. Save your thousands & go elsewhere ladies & gents! Through lack of one complimentary shutter they will via my network loose thousands. Their issue.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Mrs A.

#price(3/5) #customer service(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Mrs A.
Moved into a new home, sliding door blinds were faulty, had a guarantee from previous owner as blinds were all new throughout but Hilary’s refused to help even though we had them out to quote for more blinds and the sales rep said they just needed adjustment, it would be no problem he said !!
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Deleted User

Read previous reviews from Deleted User
we purchased 2 sets of custom fit blackout blinds and 2 skylight blinds from Hillarys in Ireland. After a year of use the larger of the blackout blinds has become faulty and is now stuck in the down position as the pulley system has failed so we can no longer pull the blind up or down. The blind itself was very expensive and i can see from looking at the pulley system that the parts are plastic and poor quality, so it is always likely that this was going to happen after repeated use. The blinds have a metal bead chord as well which makes a really load noise on both of the blinds when you pull it up or down and is not smooth at all. I would not recommend Hillarys at all and if I could go back would use an idependent supplier who uses better quality products.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by jongoff100

#quality(3/5)

Read previous reviews from jongoff100
We ordered 2.3k Bay window shutter with Hillarys on 4th Feb'19. It took over 3 months for the shutters to be installed. On 15th May'19 on instalation day the engineer run 3 hours late for the appointment due to his private matter (boiler not been working). I called Hillarys and they promised to look into it. No one ever called back that day. The late arrival of the engineer made me be late for my work as I had taken half day off from work for morning installation as scheduled. At the end of installation the engineer announced that the right hand shutter is wrong and has to be replaced. In order not to leave my window exposed I asked him for the wrong shutter to be fitted upside down anyway until the replacement arrives as I thought it well be few weeks as they will correct the mistake swift and promptly. Engeneer was frank and told me that I should feel lucky as Hillarys shutters orders are shipped from China and often they are wrong as partually shutters orseds could be missing or damaged. I called Hillarys on following day to ask how an order could be send wrong and why after 3 months wait it was not checked before send to us? I was told that new shutter will be coming from China and they will notify me when done. No one has contacted me ever since! On 17th July'19.... two months later I had to call them myslef to be told that hopefully they will fix the wrong shutter by end of August without commuting to a fixed date or taking ownership for their mistake and poor service. We bought new house and decided to try them to do our shutters in the house. Thanks God we have ordered one only as since Feb 2019 until now out shutter is still in progress. Hillarys does sell product made on low cost in China and selling them to UK market on triple prices. Customer service is andiquate and appalling as no one has taken ownership from Hillarys to contact us and apologies and compensate us for the poor service we have been given. I have been more than several times in contact with them to chase things and no result or action is taken by them. If your order turn up to be wrong by their fault you have to wait another 3 months and chase them to fix it for you, but you still pay same price as per high quiry service they claim to offer. The only British made at Hillarys which is left is the price! I will write official letter of complaint to their head office. We will never ever buy from them based on our first experience with them.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Peter Vasilev

#price(3/5) #customer service(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Peter Vasilev
I except Covid 19 has caused problems, however I ordered blinds just before lockdown, my advisor didn't point out their may be problems with fitting. I contacted Hillarys, and said I wanted to cancel my order. They said they couldn't do that, as the blinds were already made and we're with the fitter. I asked could the fitter drop them off or arrange delivery so we could fit them ourselves. No was the answer. Now Hillarys are open, I ask my fitter for my blinds. Guess what? He hasn't got them, there still at the warehouse. Being lied to I don't feel is good customer service, and as this my second complaint re this company I certainly don't recommend them. Incidentally these blinds are going on 2 external doors in a conservatory, so the safest job to fit as doors can be left open.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Mags Kath

#delivery(3/5) #customer service(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Mags Kath
Since 5th October 2019 when I purchased shutters for the whole house I am still awaiting for them to be installed. Their surveyors/fitters simply could not measure correctly and have made mistakes 3 times so far. I have asked for a considerable compensation to be made but was offered a miserable £400 for the inconvenience which is not acceptable, it is downright inconvenient as my windows are covered with newspapers for some privacy. If I had any choice I would kick them out and ask for a total refund and be done with. I regret big time to have dealt with them in the first place as they have proved to be totally and utterly useless so far. On what grounds did they get their "high reputation" I fail to see. I WOULD NOT TOUCH THEM EVER AGAIN
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Neda Abrams

#refund(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Neda Abrams
Can I just say a big thank you to David who fit our blinds. Not only is he one of the nicest guys you could meet, he came on his day off to refit the blinds in his own time. I have never experienced such efficient and friendly customer service (Ever). The blinds look amazing and have really transformed our home. Thanks David
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by John Carr

#customer service(5/5)

Read previous reviews from John Carr
I ordered two sets of shutters and four white roller blinds. The blinds were to replace existing ones fitted by Hillary's some years ago. The design consultant failed to inform me that the law now requires that I have child-safety catches, and I was horrified to find that the surveyor had screwed them to the walls, without permission, and with short cords we find hard to move. I asked to have these fittings removed and when I rang Hillary's customer service, they said the surveyor would do that if I signed a disclaimer, but he walked out on us. This is the same company that fitted blinds with long cords in our son's flat in 2017, even though the law had been passed in 2014. None of us have children living in our properties. The factory supplied the wrong blinds. At survey stage, I asked if I could change two blinds from white to cream, the colour I had had before in two rooms. I said I wanted like for like. The surveyor had no samples, so I chose the nearest colour on the website. I was dismayed when, later, I discovered that he had fitted blackout blinds - not like for like, as I had stipulated. I was not aware that I had ordered blackout blinds in cream, nor did the surveyor warn me that I was not buying like for like. The account manager later confirmed to me, and apologised, that the factory sent the wrong blinds and that they would sort it out, but Hillary's are now backtracking and refusing to replace the blinds because I signed for them. I had asked the surveyor to put back my old blinds in the three rooms in whioch the wrong blinds had been installed, but he refused because they had long cords and it was illegal to put them up. Actually, the law does not apply to blinds installed prior to 2014 (these were installed in 2009), yet in the interests of safety it is recommended, not mandatory, that all existing blinds are made safe. The surveyor also fitted two blinds in the wrong rooms, after I told the surveyor where they should go. Hillary's have left us in a mess. The only thing they have offered to do for us is change over the blinds in the wrong rooms, but one is a blackout blind. I've been chasing Hillary's for eight days for a resolution and got nowhere. They need to improve their communication and ensure that customers are properly informed about products they are buying. I have spent thousands of pounds with them over the years. They will not be getting another penny.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Alison Weir

#customer service(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Alison Weir
We ordered blinds and shutter through Hillarys in December 2019 with the promise if we agreed the deal we would have our blinds fitted before Christmas. What mugs we were. After agreeing the deal and paying the deposit we shortly learnt that we would not have blinds fitted before christmas, no explanation or apology. Our blinds were fitted in February and discovered that there is 1 blind missing which we are still waiting for now. Looks like it was missed off the order, again no explanation or apology and still unsure whe we will have it fitted despite chasing and no urgency from them considering it was there mess up. Our shutters were finally fitted yesterday. Our over experience with Hillarys has truly been awful. If I had known that they lie to get you to agree a deal I would of shopped around. The main reason we went with Hillarys is because we wanted blinds before christmas which was promised but never happened. I would of shopped around, got a better price and probably had them fitted much quicker. This company is awful and would recommend avoid at all costs. I would not recommend them to anyone and when asked who fitted our shutters I am vocal in telling people not to even bother with contacting Hillarys.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Deleted User

#price(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Deleted User
We have put electric blinds on our conservatory roof
Within 18 months 3 of the panels have been having different faults and have been unable to work properly
They came to fix them twice and now within the Coronavirus setting it’s the third fault
avoid if you can !
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Emmanouil Nikolousis

Read previous reviews from Emmanouil Nikolousis
Cheap cardboard rubbish The sales rep advised a batten to be installed in around the bay, to my surprise on the day of installation I was told I had to supply the batten despite the expense so off we went to the local builder merchant for me to purchase a batten however badly fitted and the material is simply cardboard rubbish It is no use complaining to this company as they have no service quality intention but one of being rude talking down to customers and I would urge to stay away from this company who charge massive amount of money so badly made blinds from cheap cardboard rubbish, I had also made an order when they stated a 50% sale seeing the amount I paid for this I cannot see where the 50% reduction was
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Deleted User

#quality(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Deleted User
I have to do a 2nd review as I was promised a call back by Friday, that was over 2 weeks ago.

As I have paid for my shutters in full they have no interest in sorting out my issue which has now been going on for over 4 months and I still have sub standard shutters that look awful.

Hillary dont care after they have your money
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Christine Donaldson

Read previous reviews from Christine Donaldson
Excellent experience from initial visit to measure and choose material to the professional fitting.Already have 2 blinds more than 4 years old and my third is up so far to their continuing quality and appearance.Very satisfied customer.Paying a bit more gets you blinds that have longevity in durability and appearance.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by M. Fryer

#quality(5/5)

Read previous reviews from M. Fryer
Terrible experience from start to finish. Appalling customer service and awful quality.

Firstly, I had a consultation for shutters and was told by the sales rep that they would be approx. £1300 but if I waited until Black Friday sales they’d be cheaper. I waited 2-3 weeks as encouraged (which is a long time when shutters already take 12 weeks to arrive) only for him to come round and tell me that actually they would still be £1300.

This showed to me that their sales must be a scam and that the price never really changes much - interesting to see that a former employee backs this up on one of the reviews on here. I wasn’t best pleased and had cheaper quotes but was happy to stick with Hillarys as I had great recommendations from friends and quality was my priority above anything anyways.

I then got the shutters installed and within 3 days the outer frame fell off - revealing that they’d only been stuck together by cheap looking stickers that I could have done myself.

I called the customer service team straight away and was informed that I’d get a call from someone that afternoon or Monday at the latest to discuss fixing it.

6 days later and still nobody had got in touch with me, I decided to reach out to the team again and was told this time that someone will be in touch by Friday latest. I was really confused as to why this wasn’t a priority and why it would take a week for a call back or why nobody got in touch with me as agreed. In the end, I only got a response from the team by personally reaching out to someone I found on LinkedIn!!

After that, they eventually got someone round to fix them but lo and behold, within a few weeks the same frame has come off again and the 2 other frames are also peeling away and about to fall off!

Not only is this poor quality but it's also very dangerous - I have high ceilings and my window is full length right by my sofa so the frames could easily hurt someone or cause damage when they fall off.

I've reached out to their customer service and as always, they are taking days to come back and being of no help (I obviously am not expecting anyone to come and fix it during this pandemic but some kind of answer and compensation would be fair, I would have thought). Once again I am getting minimal responses and having to chase them up myself.

On top of this, the shutters do look quite cheap and definitely not worth the price even if their hadn't been all of these ridiculous issues.

EDIT - they also don't acknowledge any of the issues, as you'll see in their reply they act as though it's a "lose trim" there is TWO lose trims and 1 side that has completely fallen off! Don't fall for their replies that make the situation seem less than it is. Also, they only contacted me this afternoon once I'd chased up AGAIN and posted this review.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by JM

#price(3/5) #quality(3/5) #customer service(3/5)

Read previous reviews from JM
I barely ever write reviews but wanted to share my shockingly disappointing experience with Hillarys, avoid them at all costs for the below reasons: 1.Significant delays to the order - we were guaranteed delivery before Christmas by both initial fitter and surveyor and as things stand, we still haven't received our full order as of 4th Feb 2019. What's even more shocking is the fact that nobody at Hillarys can advise when the order will be completed or what's the reason for the delay.  2. Extremely poor communication - we received no apology or reason why our order was delayed by 2 months, as mentioned above nobody in the whole company including customer service senior manager or our fitter could tell what happened to our voiles & curtain tracks and when they will be available. 3. Three separate fitting appointments required - we were guaranteed that our order will be fitted in one go, however, each time the fitter came he was missing either curtains or voiles or was sent the wrong tracks meaning we had to take time off work again and again just to accommodate extremely poor service by Hillarys.  3. Shocking customer service - nobody took ownership of our case despite the formal written complaint, even the manager & customer service representatives were rude and kept cutting me off on the phone, I had to chase customer service on a daily basis and explain the situation to a different person each time just to get an answer to such simple things as the fitting date, reason for delay (which they couldn't advise at all). The information provided was often conflicting with what was agreed with the fitter e.g. our 1 (out of 3!) fitting appointments was cancelled and rescheduled by the fitter and customer services were completely unaware and gave me completely wrong information both on the phone and later by the text message showing a complete lack of communication internally and no respect to the customer. 4. Compensation - I had to fight long and hard (numerous phone calls, email communications, formal complaint) to get any kind of compensation for this awful experience & significant delays. And after all of this time and effort, all that Hillarys were willing to offer was a 5% discount!!!  Honestly, do yourself a big favour and look elsewhere - the signature service that Hillarys claim to offer simply does not exist the minute something goes wrong!!!
3

7 months ago

  •  

review by Deleted User

#delivery(3/5) #customer service(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Deleted User
They were about show up late to the 3 hour time slot they gave me. So I cancelled them. A waste of an entire morning. Forget them. A bad sign for anything beyond.
3

7 months ago

  •  

review by Deleted User

Read previous reviews from Deleted User
Only one out of four shutters fitted is correct. One shutter was 700mm to wide so left with a bedroom window totally without any cover. Promised a temp blind by Dave Moore to make up for their mistake. Never arrived. Day two a slat fell off in my hand when opening shutters. That door is also warped. Bay window has two different size opposite shutters, 600mm difference they look a mess. The base boards that the bay shutters sit on have miter joints that look they have been cut with an axe. Dozens of Emails and photos sent. No offer of any fix, no apology, no phone call, nothing. THEY WILL NEVER CALL YOU BACK. YOU HAVE TO CHASE THEM ALL THE TIME. WHAT SORT OF COMPANY IS THIS? NO CUSTOMER SKILLS WHATSOEVER. Rep and fitter measured windows twice and still got it wrong. BOTH SHOULD GO TO SPECSAVERS. Shutters are made in China so if there is a problem you have to wait 12 weeks for a replacement. We ordered shutters in September 2019 so it will be six months of aggravation from order date and still no solution. Unbelievable. Talking to the office staff is like talking to a frog on a Lilley pad as they both CROKE the same rubbish. Worst company we have ever had deelings with. CEO of Hillary’s hang your head in shame. Also how can you give UPTO 50% off your products if you don’t publish any fixed prices. Very confusing don’t you think? Reps and fitters are self employed they do not work directly for Hillary’s although they carry the Hillary’s logo on clothing. We await your reply and please don’t sound shocked as this has been going on for over two months from fitting date. You have been given enough time to sort it out. Enough is Enough. £3040 paid out for a DIY experience. CUSTOMERS YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED, GO ELSEWHERE UNLESS YOU WANT A NIGHTMARE ON HILLARYS STREET. MAKE SURE YOU PAY BY CREDIT CARD. GOOD LUCK. YOU WILL NEED IT.
3

7 months ago

  •  

review by Deleted User

#price(3/5)

Read previous reviews from Deleted User

Satisfied

Unsatisfied

Shop Hillarys™ Made to Measure Blinds, Curtains, Shutters & Awnings! Full Measuring and Fitting Service Included. Book a FREE In-Home Design Appointment & Order Samples Today!

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Sign in to write your review

You’re moments away from writing your review.

Sign in

or sign in with