ACE Cultural Tours

2.9 / 5

ACE Cultural Tours

2.9 Poor
For scoring calculation, we evaluate more than 25 parameters.

2.9 / 5

Main Score

4.6

Reviews

1

Social

1

Featured

5

Technical

We are evaluating more than 25 parameters for scoring calculation.

Reviews Analysis

204

reviews

vs

0

AI declined reviews

0%

NON VALIDATED REVIEWS

Founded in 1958 ACE Cultural Tours is by far the oldest and most experienced provider of study tours and cultural travel in the United Kingdom

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Last update: Mon, Nov 30, 2020 10:05 AM

Write a review

Point: Poor

Review aceculturaltours.co.uk

ACE Cultural Tours Reviews (204)

The guide was excellent and her choice of what to see - as well as the organisation of hotel and restaurants - was great.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Q. Y.

Read previous reviews from Q. Y.
I have already booked for a second tour. I thought the content was good and the atmosphere between the participants was excellent as promoted byt the guide and manager.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by E. R.

Read previous reviews from E. R.
I would recommend them and travel with them again

Course leader was excellent...knowledgeable and good with travelers.

Course well planned and very interesting
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Q. R.

Read previous reviews from Q. R.
Prof Alan Powers really knows his stuff it was over-priced
4

6 months ago

  •  

review by Rosalind Grahamhunt

Read previous reviews from Rosalind Grahamhunt
Tour Leader/Guide provided well informed detail of the location, thoroughly enjoyed.
Did feel that to get the most from a visit it would have been better to have utilised a Tour Manager rather than to expect the Lecturer / Expert to look after the guests in the tour group.
Was slightly surprised I had to purchases lunches as well.
4

6 months ago

  •  

review by Barbara Christmas

Read previous reviews from Barbara Christmas
A fascinating subject and an exceptional leader and tour manager.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Peter Miltonthompson

Read previous reviews from Peter Miltonthompson
The tour guide and manager were excellent Informative ,supportive and cheerful The whole experience gave us a lovely taste of Corsica and we enjoyed the group contacts very much indeed. The food was good and the trip was altogether successful
No criticisms.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Ruth Hirons

Read previous reviews from Ruth Hirons
The tutor was very good, and his admin assistant was a star, always smiling and always helpful. He was knowledgeable, well informed and took us to some really interesting places. One small criticism is that we didn't get enough time in each place but had to hurry on to the next site before we had seen all there was to see. this is particularly true of the visit to the Gladstone Pottery, whihc was absolutely fascinating.

The hotel was fine, and I can see why it was chosen in Stoke on Trent but I would suggest for another time something in a more scenic setting. Stoke looks like a war zone, whihc is so sad as there are some fantastic buildings now left high and dry by 'modernisation.'
4

6 months ago

  •  

review by Linda Hastie

Read previous reviews from Linda Hastie
Excellent information of highest quality from Andrew Wilson, packed with astounding visits from Udine, to the wondrous mosaics of the renowned Basilica of Aquileia, early frescoes, drives to high interest centres of the area well itimized in the ACE programme.
Especially commended was the reminder of the whole reason d'etre, as we discovered and delved into the background creativity of the wondrous arts we were able to see: that Doctrine influences Liturgy - Liturgy influences Architecture. Indeed, Andrew brought that home to me, so well.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by J. A.

Read previous reviews from J. A.
I really enjoyed the trip :
Suzanne and Geoffrey were a very professional and excellent team. The hotel was very second rate with a miserable breakfast room.
A couple of the meals , both at the same place were also appalling.
I would go on an ace holiday again however,
4

6 months ago

  •  

review by Barbara Glynne

Read previous reviews from Barbara Glynne
Good points were the tour leader and manager who both worked hard to make the trip enjoyable. The content was interesting and the visits well chosen. Imogen, the tour leader explained everything and put what we were seeing in context. I felt I learnt a lot about a period of British history I had not studied before. The hotel was comfortable and quiet and the food plentiful and varied.
Less good points were the lack of relaxation time and the intensity of the information input. It might have been more enjoyable if the tour were spread over one or even two more days. I appreciate this would mean a higher price.
4

6 months ago

  •  

review by Susan White

Read previous reviews from Susan White
Very full itinerary full of detailed information from Tour Specialist Leader with high commendation.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by U. P.

Read previous reviews from U. P.
The lecturer, Andrew Wilson, is tops for humour, knowledge and gastro experiences. This short holiday was delightful and introduced me to a little known area of former travellers in ancient times, as well as the early Christian Church. Aquiliea was the 7th largest city in the Roman Empire and is now a village! The holiday went like clockwork, thanks to ACE customer service and Andrew and Sandra.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Josephine Idle

Read previous reviews from Josephine Idle
Representatives in the ACE office at Stapleford involved in the booking, and the rep. from ACE on the tour, plus the local tour rep/manager in the Cape, and the tour director himself, all were consistently helpful, flexible and innovative at dealing with various challenges that presented during the tour.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Q. G.

Read previous reviews from Q. G.
I was impressed with the scholarship of the tour leader, Alex Koller. I have done several tours with him and he is thoroughly prepared, delivers excellent lectures and he managed to give us a good view of two very different countries. Nothing is too much trouble for him.
The hotels were excellent, well resourced and central.
The staff in the offices at ACE are polite, well-informed and helpful.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Kenneth Keysell

Read previous reviews from Kenneth Keysell
Good house tours especially Raynham Hall and the delicious lunch there, Roger was a knowledgeable guide.
The lunch at Holkham Hall was below standard - very stodgy and disgracefully unhealthy. After the soup we were obliged to eat second rate sandwiches and a piece of cake for pudding.
It was unfortunate that my hotel room was plagued by noisy plumbing so I had to turn the radiator off. The hotel manager said they had only just put the heating on. Clearly there was an air lock but he did not deal with it during my stay.
3

6 months ago

  •  

review by Mrs Margaret

Read previous reviews from Mrs Margaret
Staff at the office in Cambridge were very helpful and accommodating from the 1st contact.

The holiday was a joy: entertaining and life-enhancing.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by D. Y.

Read previous reviews from D. Y.
The tour was well designed, the lecturer very knowledgeable and eloquent, and the tour manager could not have been more kind and helpful given that I unexpectedly pulled a muscle wriggling awkwardy into my seat on the plane going over. She constantly looked out for lifts where they might be available and made sure I was not left behind.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by A. V.

Read previous reviews from A. V.
As previously, well-organised, good seats, useful pre-lectures [2]. Only minus* was that the Barber was something of an anti-climax after Hamlet! [*hardly ACE fault].
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Dr Michael

Read previous reviews from Dr Michael
This was an excellent trip with a brilliant lecturer and superb and conscientious tour manager. I did not give the tour a fifth star only because the schedule is too rushed and the trip is quite exhausting as a result. An extra day in Syracusa with some free time would have generated a fifth star.
4

6 months ago

  •  

review by Mr John

Read previous reviews from Mr John
Travel a great deal with groups (my fourth this year) and was very impressed with ACE especially your two reps John and Donald. Both
We’re informative/intelligent and charming and made the tour for me.
Was unerimpressed with Hotel (prefer the Talbot) especially as I had
A badly cracked wash hand basin which I informed hotel (nicely!)
Needs replacing ASAP
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by F. Q.

Read previous reviews from F. Q.
A well thought out itinerary and guidance from the delightful and experienced Elizabeth Morrell kept us in discovery mode about China for the whole of the two weeks. Well-selected Chinese guides helped us to understand the places we visited. Bullet trains provided a good way to get around.
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Mr Richard

Read previous reviews from Mr Richard
My wife developed shingles during our recent trip to China in October. The director, Elizabeth Morrell, immediately arranged for us to get tickets on the next flight to Shanghai. She booked a guide to help us get to the airport. Another guide met us with a van at the Shanghai airport and drove us across Shanghai to the hotel Elizabeth had booked for us. The following morning, another guide came to the hotel and escorted us to the airport. She waited in line with us until we could board the plane. Thanks to Elizabeth we were back with our family in Vancouver within 48 hours. Please tell her how grateful we are. Norman & Marilynn Reynolds
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Mr Frederick

Read previous reviews from Mr Frederick
Aquileia - City of Antiquity
Fascinating trip, Andrew Wilson a most knowledgeable and personable guide. Hotel excellent. One restaurant meal in the city was disappointing, the other was superb.
4

6 months ago

  •  

review by Jane Steeds

Read previous reviews from Jane Steeds
A great programme and tour director, coupled with an excellent tour manager
5

6 months ago

  •  

review by Mr Richard

Read previous reviews from Mr Richard

Founded in 1958 ACE Cultural Tours is by far the oldest and most experienced provider of study tours and cultural travel in the United Kingdom

Contact

No contact details for this company.

Sign in to write your review

You’re moments away from writing your review.

Sign in

or sign in with