Back  

Cottage

A small house, typically one in the country.

108

Companies

Сompanies in this category

896

Reviews

Number of reviews in category
Back  

Categories

Filters

Back  

Cottage

Cottage A small house, typically one in the country.

108

Companies

Сompanies in this category

896

Reviews

Number of reviews in category
2.2

31 Reviews

2.2 SmartReviews Score

Schofields

Specialist insurance for holiday homes cottages holiday lets in the UK Spain France Portugal Italy Covered when unoccupied or let Get a quick quote

Recent Reviews

Not very helpful, misleading website. Operator contacted me after i filled out the online application. I explained that some questions were not clear and that the answers to them would need some further explaining. I was told that based on the question answers I had provided they would not be able to insure me. Used a different company who were happy to help me complete the questions on the telephone and after fully explaining my position they provided me with the exact policy I needed. This leaves the question - why the operator from schofields rudely dismissed me and my application.

Bad

1 month ago

Darren Needham

I had two insurance providers for different elements of the rental property insurance Schofields and another 'big' insurance provider and wanted I to consolidate. I called Schofield's, the call was answered immediately. I spoke to Jon who understood what I was trying to achieve and answered all my questions thoroughly then sent me a quote which covered everything i needed, the price was as per the ballpark discussed. A link to a slick payment payment line when I had read the paperwork completed the process. I had previously called the other provider, call answered after 10 mins. As my question was non-standard that caused more hanging on, followed by an age listening to a poor operative reading out as of caveats and get out clauses. Compare and contrast. Schofields offer a wide range of products at sensible prices backed up by knowledgeable people

Excellent

6 months ago

Mr Ogden

3.2

21 Reviews

3.2 SmartReviews Score

cottages

Browse over 21000 holiday holiday cottages in the UK Ireland Europe Find hot tub cottages dog friendly holidays short breaks and more amazing self-catering accommodation

Recent Reviews

They are a disgrace to British Tourism.We booked in march for a holiday in cornwall in august. Six days before we were due to travel they emailed to say it was cancelled due to double booking .Then got a phone call apologising the woman said it was double booked then blamed the owners . We rang the owners who told us that it wasnt them and sent us a copy of cottages email to them . Cottages then rebooked it within the hour at a much higher price . I asked about compensation and all that was offered was 15% off next booking .As if we'd book with them again .Told her she was lying. They are part of Hoseasons and a bunch of con artists .If i could give the a zero rating i would . They've done this to thousands of people . STAY WELL AWAY FROM THEM

Bad

1 month ago

Dave Watts

tried to cancel my booking and they are trying to take another £350 to cancel it! I cannot believe they think this is appropriate behaviour when there is a national crisis. I expected to lose the £75 paid as a deposit, but not get charged more! I am not sure what planet they are on. Strongly advise not using these scammers!

Bad

1 month ago

William Brians

3.9

32 Reviews

3.9 SmartReviews Score

Holidaycottages

Holidaycottagescouk - Personally inspected Holiday Cottages for you across England Wales and Scotland Voted 39Gold39 for customer service by Feefo

Recent Reviews

Probably the worst customer service experience I have ever had, and certainly the worst with a self-catering agency. The property (Beacon Farmhouse in Michaelchurch Escley) was absolutely filthy, in a dire state of repair, and infested with insects. We left after being unable to raise the property manager on the phone, and there has been almost a complete lack of communication from the agency ever since. Currently fighting for a refund, and I am guessing that we are going to end up in small claims court over this. First such experience in over twenty years of staying in self-catering properties.

Bad

1 month ago

C. B.

They take no pride in themselves. They (charlie) cancelled our trip last week to Norfolk by email the day before saying they would help us rebook which we said we wanted to do. They didn't answer our email they completely ignored us. AVOID

Bad

1 month ago

Nick

4.4

4 Reviews

4.4 SmartReviews Score

Sykes Cottages

Sykes Cottages - Rated 'Excellent' by TripAdvisor. Search 1000s of hand picked holiday cottages & accommodation in top locations throughout the UK & Ireland.

Recent Reviews

My parents are being told to make a further payment even though they can’t actually go on their holiday due to Covid19. I understand they are busy but when I did eventually get through they were less than helpful. They seem to have a lot of bad press at the moment but they do not appear to care!!

Bad

1 month ago

U. G.

To all Sykes Owners Having signed up to Sykes in 2016 the bookings came rolling in but it wasn’t long before we started to have concerns about the way in which our bookings were being handled. Under-selling Having agreed a fixed price structure with Sykes (and having kept a copy) we started to get bookings through for twelve months in advance that had been sold at a price much lower than our agreed price. When we challenged Sykes we were told that they could alter prices 12 months in advance at their discretion to increase bookings despite us having agreed to fixed prices and been fully booked the previous year. We were told that their system was unable to differentiate between fixed pricing and their flexible pricing structure more that 12 months in advance. Essentially, they increase their short-term cash flow at the expense of their customers. Security Breaches More concerning was a voice message and email we got from Sykes requesting that we send our key code to a customer who was waiting outside the property. We had no record of the booking and called Sykes immediately. They also had no record of the booking. Sykes continue to deny that they have had a security breach despite us going to a specialist IT company who have traced the email back to the Sykes IT system. Had we not been on the ball we could have easily disclosed our key code and found the cottage either stripped of all its contents or full of squatters! We believe this is a huge security concern for all Sykes cottage owners but Sykes themselves refuse to take the matter seriously and investigate. Appalling Customer Service As we were getting lots of bookings through Sykes with great reviews, we were reluctant to leave them but the nail in the coffin was the appalling customer service. We received lots of ‘sorrys’ and ‘it won’t happen again’ over the phone but it consistently ‘happened again’. Whilst we have dealt with some lovely Sykes staff the structure within which they operate prevents them from following through on their promises. We have also dealt with some arrogant staff who are only there for the money. Advertising And finally, since taking the decision to leave Sykes our troubles have magnified. We decided to leave on 1st Sept 2018 and our six month compulsory notice ended on 1st March 2019 but we still had bookings with them until September 2019 which we honoured. Despite having given our notice and honouring their terms of not advertising anywhere else during the six month period, more than a year later we are still listed on all the sites they use to promote their cottages when searches are done by property name: bookings.com, mailcottages.co.uk, britishbeaches.uk, ukholidays.com, expedia.co.uk, ebookers.com, utklettings.co.uk, directrooms.com, orbitz.com, atta.ai, traveloka.com, horizoncottages.com, trivago.com. All of these sites show us as either fully booked or no longer available which has had a huge impact on our bookings. We have contacted Sykes numerous times but they refuse to remove us until our last booking with them has completed. We are told to check their terms and conditions. We have contacted all of the companies directly and a couple have removed us but most just link back to Sykes so there is no way of getting us removed. So if you are thinking of leaving Sykes make sure that all of your future bookings fall within your six month compulsory notice period otherwise you’ll end up like us where you are unable to get bookings as Sykes will have your property listed as unavailable with all the big booking sites and seemingly there is nothing that can be done about it. We have moved to a Direct Booking Site with No Booking Fees and Free Payment Protection. In summary, their business practices are total unethical and they have turned a successful holiday cottage into a cottage that prospective holidaymakers can now no longer book as well as causing a great deal of stress to myself and my wife. We don’t believe we are alone in our troubles with Sykes and would love to hear from other owners to hear your experiences. If you are reading this as a new cottage owner thinking of signing up to Sykes I would strongly advise you to think again.

Bad

1 month ago

Easy Reach, Rhos on Sea

3.6

3 Reviews

3.6 SmartReviews Score

Cheap Family Caravan Holidays and Cottage Rental Direct from the Owner

Find luxury caravans for hire in the UK or pick up a late deal on a bargain cottage or holiday home and book direct with the owner saving you time and money

Recent Reviews

We have been using this site for years!! We have never had any problems and in fact through this site we have become very well acquainted with a couple of the owners and as a result have continued to use their vans .

Excellent

5 months ago

Zoey B.

we have booked caravan holidays on this site for MANY years and have had NO bad experiences, the caravans have all been brilliant and so have the owners, so pleasant and very helpful wherever in the country we have been and this has been varied from Somerset to Clacton and Gt Yarmouth to Skegness and a few more besides. I am in the process of booking again now.

Excellent

6 months ago

Carol B.

2.6

2 Reviews

2.6 SmartReviews Score

Cottage Mont-Tremblant - Luxury waterfront cottage for rent with a lake and mountain view fireplace spa pool table and canoe

Waterfront cottage for rent in Mont Tramblant Chalet Mont Tremblant rental ski resort accomodation vacation rental

Recent Reviews

Mont Tremblant is a beautiful place. But I had very bad experience specifically with this company. It's my 5th time in Mont Tremblant, I never had any problems. The owners charged extra fees for cleaning the hot tub, because they did not want to pay it themselves. Cleaning the spa is part of the maintenance and customers should not be paying for it. Same with cleaning the cottage. Also, the pool table was missing one ball and I was almost charged for it as well, had to argue that it was missing before we arrived there. Very dishonest! I would not recommend.

Average

6 months ago

Olena N.

Cottage Mont Tremblant Rental - Just great place for summer retreat! Very quite place! It stays on non-motorized lake Gauthier just minutes driving from mount Tremblant. My family and I go on regular vacations to Mont Tremblant, Quebec, Canada and we normally stay in Hotels. This year we were looking for something a little different and my google search found this Cottage Mont Tremblant site. We decided to try it and never regret of our choice! I thought it was worth sharing.

Excellent

6 months ago

Sonya D.

3.2

14 Reviews

3.2 SmartReviews Score

Powells

For a great range of Pembrokeshire and West Wales self-catering holidays visit Powells Cottage Holidays

Recent Reviews

Did not get the booking e mail but got it as soon as I phoned to query.Booking letter then came in the post 2 days later leading me to think the prompt was needed,so maybe admin or IT not too great.Staff on the phone very good.

Great

6 months ago

N. T.

I was a bit nervous about booking a holiday online, but Powells were on the phone first thing next morning confirming details with the paperwork arriving the next day - great service and nice to hear a friendly voice.

Excellent

6 months ago

S. T.

3.1

30 Reviews

3.1 SmartReviews Score

Self-Catering Suffolk Holiday Cottages Suffolk Secrets

The largest selection of self-catering holiday cottages in Suffolk

Recent Reviews

A lot more could have been done to provide us with realistic feedback when selecting this property, as we had 2 children and this cottage was not ideal due to stairs and access to property at night upon arrival.

Average

6 months ago

Mr Connolly

Have booked holidays with Suffolk Secrets for many years now and have always been completely satisfied.

Excellent

6 months ago

Mrs Swann

3.4

7 Reviews

3.4 SmartReviews Score

Suffolk Cottage Holidays

Suffolk Cottage Holidays’ stylish luxury self catering holiday cottages are the very best in Suffolk

Recent Reviews

I wish the kitchen was cleaner

Great

6 months ago

Mrs Haley

Bit of a panic when we couldn't get the key safe to work on Saturday the 16th September but the lady on reception and the handyman were most helpful.

Excellent

7 months ago

Mr Brownless

2.9

30 Reviews

2.9 SmartReviews Score

STS Holidays Self Catering Holiday Agency in Snowdonia

STS Holidays offer a wide variety of self catering holiday properites in Snowdonia and North Wales - from cosy cottages to harbour apartments to beachside bungalows Visit Wales approved

Recent Reviews

Already booked with them two years ago. The website is clear, gives ample detail about the holiday cottages, and finding available dates is very simple. Booking went smoothly, and detailed responses confirming booking and providing all necessary information were emailed back within the day.

Excellent

6 months ago

U. H.

I’ve been using the STS online service to book a cottage for a couple of years now. I find the information they provide with regards to the cottages is accurate and the process of booking very easy.

Excellent

6 months ago