Back  

Building Design Company

A company that offers services relating building design.

4

Companies

Сompanies in this category

47

Reviews

Number of reviews in category
Back  

Categories

Filters

Back  

Building Design Company

Building Design Company A company that offers services relating building design.

4

Companies

Сompanies in this category

47

Reviews

Number of reviews in category
2.1

30 Reviews

2.1 SmartReviews Score

Sherridon Homes

At Sherridon Homes we respect that we’re building your home after all That’s why we welcome your input and design ideas from the outset

Recent Reviews

We have selected a plan and agreed to pay initial deposit 1000 and after the drafting and drawings we paid another 2500 dollars for the tender and later we were given false information by sales agent that if we will give 5 percent then we will get a discount of 2000 dollars on our whole agreement plus if we struck on loans or something changes in near future then we will be losing initial deposit not the 5 percent deposit so we have the deposit then we told the sales consultant that book us for colour appointment then we were ignored and later 6 months we were told by broker that we couldn’t be able to get loan approval for that building cost. We contacted sales consultant and he said we will be loosing most of our money and then we realise that we trapped in false words and we lost a big money. We contacted the GM and they agreed to pay us only 3200 approx money from 13750 dollars deposit and that means we are losing around 10k and later after arguments over phone and over emails they agreed to pay 6800 dollars that includes the tender and drawings plus the administration costs and i dont know from where the administration costs come from? So they refunded us the money and later i have contacted my friends and we had a chat about all this and then we realise that they just took our money for false administrator costs even we had not done soil test no colours nothing just done the tender. Be careful guys before going to these builders as they dont even care once you have given 5 percent deposit and plz get everything in written from them and they took 2 months to refund our half of the money and they just let us frustrated and anger and in stress all in 2 months. They charged 3200 for administration and nothing spend .. think twice before going or signing these builders Be careful

Average

6 months ago

Manu S.

Beware of theirs 1) Accounts Receivable person 2) Site supervisors 3) Builders and contractors 1)We had new "Accounts Receivable" without any explanation but not a big deal. Just turned out this person follows contract conditions/day of payments very strictly and no regards to risen questions "why we should pay for work which is not done?" ( we have photo of not done works, so we can prove it) Another their bad habit is the sending invoice in 4 pm Friday and asking to pay within 7 days. My suggestion is fix your contracts into "7 business days". We tried to ask why you didn't finish item X of stage "A" (we could easily inspect item X by checking from street!) site admin #1 said "usually this item X of stage "A" is done after stage "B"".... WTH????? I have emails from her to prove it. Just how it's fck amazing to ask money for non finished jobs and send invoice in 4 pm Friday before long weekends in April 2018???? 2) Our first supervisor turned out to be a very little professional because under his supervision they installed: - wrong front door( should be wider) + wrong space for front door - twice(!!!) installed wrong windows in bathroom, and final one is badly painted - wrong evaporating cooler, 3 starts instead of 5 stars - wrong heating unit, - not installed dimmers where they should be - wrong place for door locker ( they accomplished this mission with 2 iterations!) - tonns minor defects Our building administrator magically disappeared and we got new one, again not a big deal. Since we used to see new persons from Sherridon to come and go ... to compromising quality. In June 2018 we got final invoice and congratulation that ... house is ready! ..haha And then site supervisor disappeared by leaving house not ready at all.(no appliances installed) New supervisor worked between June and October. He finished only big outstanding things. During one of countless visits we found that ducted heating unit is wrong. We had to extend our rent and repay more to bank. But who cares? Certainly not Sherridon! After some back-and force communications and arguing why we have less evap cooling points we found another one thing. Their contractor decided to change evap unit to cheaper one and instead of vss55(what was in emails from new site administrator) they installed sbb950 by saying it's good enough! what a crap!! Later heater started to leak ( I think installers made mistake) and they had been fixing 3 times(!!) We have many outstanding items and now they don't react on emails or reacting somewhat we bla bla discussing something internally and that's it! So, my suggestions are you can go with this company only if you have experience to kick managers/ site supervisors in butt/head. Without it ( I believe it's very necessary) they do reluctantly and poor quality. Or if you can wait and pay for rent and loan just because Sherridon cannot pick RIGHT contractors and managers. We could not wait anymore than 4 months and signed documents as well as paid final invoice. And it was super big mistake. NEVER EVER trust site supervisors when they say "we'll fix it after your settle down/move in". It's nonsense. what is very very terrible quality(before posting original review!) 1) brick cladding , holes between bricks, somewhere broken bricks ( hi supervisor number one) 2) leaking gutters where it should not 3) they installed prior damaged(!) interior doors(photos are given to sherridon-> no reaction) 4) nails in strap for carpet is too long ( supervisor#2 said it's because we choose (sic!) thin carpet!) not because contractors used wrong nails but customer is dumb 5) cement residual on site with a lots of building rubbish left. 6) painting done on non-polished surfaces(doors, staircase rails) 7) paints and gap fillers spots left in garage ( I have amazing photos of Sherridon footprints in garage) Almost all items not fixed and mentioned in final inspection by private inspector. When asked site supervisor have he fixed all -> he answered yes. It's not true and even now he really thinks he fixed all. I am guessing because nobody in Sherridon reads inspection reports. NO surprises here because site admin #2 asked to send report twice. p.s. ONLY after sending this review in private to Sherridon Homes they reacted unexpectedly fast. And finally, their construction manager payed his attention and came with supervisor #2. So they promised to fixed all till Christmas 2018. :-D.... At that moment It was sooo strange for me as a customer to hear that I posted not fair review. I was not told in what point it is not fair??? You guys can't deliver promises, dodgy words about evap/evap points/heater, dodgy invoice in April 2018 and fine for paying late(!!!). And upto now I was waiting for more than one damn month to fix god damn pipes. Which supposed to be fixed at some stage, supposed to be installed correctly. NO rubbish removal and etc.. supervisor#2 said it's all gone be done by maintenance. hm... p.p.s. I am not changing here items which were fixed after posting original review as soon as they fix them I do. p.p.p.s. Sooner we'll check their maintenance. argh.... .....I posted this in public coz Sherridon Homes does not react on me in private...

Average

6 months ago

Slava M.

2.8

7 Reviews

2.8 SmartReviews Score

Medallion Homes

Home design and building in South Australia for those looking for an innovative and individual approach

Recent Reviews

Built with Medallion Homes 2008/09. Very impressed by their display homes (but beware 'what you see is not what you get'). "Free" 1st design draft & consultation but the final quote could only be given after payment of $6000 of an initial works agreement. My 2-storey house ended up costing $1963/m2 after various non-inclusions and variations (ie. 50% more, than the Grand Manor display home price we modelled & budget on, at ~450m2). Project managment: Forgotten to submit request for demolition of the pre-existing house. Forgotten to arrange the electrical work to supply cables to the new swimming pool (discovered after paving). Engineers: Provided 'routine' work. Lack of communication between Medallion and the engineers who ignored the presence of my swimming pool to be built and designed a soakage pit next to it. The engineer did not take into consideration the amount of paving I did to all my backyard. This ended up with diastrous flooding of my block during the heavy rains in 2009. Medallion, the engineers, the plumbers shifted the blame to the Landscapist. Roof: The roof leaked, damaging and soaking the kitchen (JAG had to replace a set of cupboards) and the plasterboard behind the glass splash-back. Also leaks around the bow window and 2 other spots. JAG: What would you expect to get when Medallion only paid JAG $20840 (even after our variations to upgrade to Caesarstone top and Glass splashback) to build our entire kitchen. That was 2.4% of the entire building cost we paid Medallion. Tiling: Suboptimal graded fall in a shower, with one standing in pools of water during showers. The sealant in most wet areas and some non-wet areas got mouldy within 1 year. Electrical: Was cautious of its previous legal history but turned out to be quite good work. Building on schedule once started building; punctual hand-over (48 weeks as quoted). They responded to your questions. Excellent work from site supervisor, gyprock/plastering/rendering, painter, locksmith, and thereafter the maintenance team. See above. Have major reservations re: their transparency, and value-for-money. Hopefully their new management style (and logo) helps.

Average

6 months ago

Alfa Z.

This is our second home built with Medallion Homes - and the experience this time was even better than the first! From start to finish, Medallion homes were able to deliver their product which was to become our dream home in North Adelaide. To be able to complete our large double story home together with tennis court and swimming pool plus landscaping within 9 months with no compromise in quality - Medallion Homes - they deliver!

Excellent

7 months ago

Karwohng Y.

2.7

9 Reviews

2.7 SmartReviews Score

Archicentre Australia

Archicentre Australia is a national provider of design architects and assessment experts offering independent advice for building buying and renovating

Recent Reviews

I am the owner of a property which is for sale, a prospective buyer asked for a property inspection prior to making an offer. They engaged the services of Archicentre. The inspector stated to his client that there was major structural problems with part of the building which would require very expensive repairs. The inspector quoted that the work would cost around $100,000.oo to repair. As a result of this report I engaged an HIA registered builder to give me a quote to fix these reported problems. I am glad I did, amazingly he could not find or see the identified problems stated by Archicentre. He did find one problem which he quoted at approx. $1200.00. I am not impressed with this company as they have caused a lot of unnecessary worry and sleepless nights. Be wary read the comments by many others and make your own decision.

Average

6 months ago

Nrd4 J.

The inspector failed to detect bowed load bearing wall of garage as a result of excessive retained soil around the perimeter and wall being only 2 bricks wide (breach of code), clearly visible at time of inspection (2 engineers picked it up within minutes). Now facing $50k+ in repairs which will not add any capital improvement but will hopefully stop our bedroom (above the garage) from collapsing. Seeking legal advice as it is a disgrace. Archicentre when contacted indicated extreme weather conditions were likely responsible, however they failed to acknowledge the breach of building code. Next time we will employ structural engineers. Do not go near this company!!

Average

6 months ago

Neitz G.

2

1 Review

2 SmartReviews Score

Greg Dickinson Homes

Building Builder new home hunter valley greg dickinson huntlee nsw cottage design traditional camden elizabeth terrace branxton newcastle greta cessnock newcastle maitland construction house new home house and land

Recent Reviews

I thought i would add a review of this builder as I was unable to find one when researching our build, which would have put my mind at ease. Granted the overall build price is more than the big players, however you will get what you pay for. All I hear from friends building with the bigger companies is complaining of poor customer service and poor build quality (some are even using 457 visa workers). From day dot, Marcello (Huntlee supervisor) has been more than happy to help us. A example of this is when we were waiting three weeks to get an answer on a frontage issue with Macdonald, this was answered within 10 minutes with Marcello. Marcello is my company contact until the end, I don't have to deal with receptionists, and different departments at varying stages of the build. Our build is from a knocked down house so I wanted to keep the existing sheds and carport. When pushed on the matter Mcdonald jones stated for the build to go ahead the full block needed to be cleared, not only the build site. Marcello was all to happy to accommodate to our requests and tailor the house to our needs (without charging us to alter the plans). Also of interest, our bank was happy to lend us the additional money as we were not building with one of the big builders due to the build quality. The build did go a few weeks over, but this was due to christmas shut down of trades. Our site supervisor is now trading on his own as Marcello.build. He did stay until the end of our build which was greatly appreciated.

Excellent

7 months ago

Sjacka O.

Sign in to write your review

You’re moments away from writing your review.

Sign in

or sign in with

--}}